Skip to content

Texas High School Coaches Association Announces State Finalists for the National Football Foundation National High School Academic Excellence Award  

National award honors high school teams that maintain a 3.0 GPA or above throughout the 2023 football season

SAN MARCOS, Texas (January 30, 2024) – The THSCA announces the official state finalists of Texas for the 2023-24 NFF National High School Academic Excellence Award. The award is the first nationwide recognition honoring individual high school football teams for excellence in the classroom with a team 3.0 or above grade point average.

“We are ecstatic to announce our State Finalists for this prestigious award”, said Joe Martin, the Executive Director of the Texas High School Coaches Association. “Academic success is as important as athletic success, as it can take student-athletes to the next step in their lives and on the path to becoming successful citizens. This team-oriented award promotes the importance of academics, and we are proud to have 42 schools qualify as state finalists.”

The State Champions and National Finalist for each classification in each state will be announced by the National Football Foundation at the beginning of February. During Super Bowl week, the National Football Foundation will announce the National Champion of the NFF National High School Academic Excellence Award.

Below is the official list of the Texas State Finalists:


Alexander High School
Allen High School
Clements High School
Cypress Park High School
Edinburg North High School
Klein Cain High School
Lake Travis High School
McNeil High School
Mesquite High School
Pebble Hills High School
Reagan High School, San Antonio
Ridge Point High School
Stratford High School
Tomball High School
Westlake High School


Argyle High School
Colleyville Heritage High School
Georgetown High School
Gregory- Portland High School
Lake Belton High School
Longview High School
Lubbock Cooper High School
Richland High School
Southwest High School


Anna High School
Brownwood High School
Canyon High School, Amarillo
Kilgore High School
Orange Grove High School
Sanger High School
Stephenville High School
West Plains High School


Goliad High School
Idalou High School
Marion High School
Spearman High School


Beckville High School
New Home High School
Smyer High School
Thrall High School

Sanderson High School

St. Thomas Catholic High School, Houston

About the Texas High School Coaches Association
The Texas High School Coaches Association (THSCA) is Texas high school coaches’ principal advocate and leadership organization. The THSCA provides the highest quality representation, education, and services to Texas High School coaches and affiliate members by enhancing the professionalism of coaches and the schools they represent. The mission statement is simply this: To help and serve Texas high school coaches as they work to help and serve student-athletes. “HELPING COACHES TO HELP KIDS.” For more information on THSCA visit

About Texas High School Coaches Education Foundation
The mission of the Texas High School Coaches Education Foundation is to develop funds from a broad range of donors to provide professional education programs that will strengthen, reinforce, and enhance professionalism in high school coaches throughout Texas. These programs provide instructional material as well as training in character development to coaches in   Texas at both the high school and middle school levels and can directly impact the lives of over 1.5 million student-athletes each year. The two established events are the Texas Coaches Leadership Summit and the R.O.C.K. Mentoring Workshop.

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship, and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters in 47 states, NFF programs include the criteria, selection and induction of members of the College Football Hall of Fame; the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta; Future For Football; The William V. Campbell Trophy®; the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments; the NFF National High School Academic Excellence Awards presented by the Rose Bowl Legacy Foundation & Hatchell Cup presented by the Original Bob’s Steak & Chop House; and a series of programs and initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Catapult, Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Hanold Associates Executive Search, Jostens, the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, the New York Athletic Club, the Rose Bowl Legacy Foundation and the Sports Business Journal. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and X @NFFNetwork and learn more at

Leave a Comment