Skip to content

Coalition of East Texas County Judges and Mayors to Hold News Conference Discussing Updates to the I-20 Corridor Passenger Rail Route

Coalition of East Texas County Judges and Mayors to Hold News Conference Discussing Updates to the I-20 Corridor Passenger Rail Route
East Texas, December 15, 2023 – The Chief Elected Officials Board and Rural Transportation Planning Organization of the East Texas Council of Governments invites the public and media to attend a news conference sharing on the I-20 Corridor passenger rail route from Dallas/Fort Worth to Atlanta – through Mineola, Longview, and Marshall.

Who: Coalition of East Texas County Judges and Mayors

When: Tuesday, December 19, 2023, at 2:00 PM

Where: Longview Depot/Multi-Modal Transportation Center

Address: 920 E Pacific Ave. Longview, TX 75602

The East Texas Rural Transportation Planning Organization (RTPO) of the East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) was established in 2009 to provide for strategic planning for transportation projects that would benefit the 14-county region represented by ETCOG.

It is comprised of the Chief Elected Officials, which includes county judges of the ETCOG region and the mayors of Tyler and Longview, the two cities in the ETCOG region with Metropolitan Planning Organizations.

Judge Bill Stoudt, who has served as Gregg County Judge for 20 years, and other county judges and mayors will share brief remarks and an update on the long-advocated for I-20 Corridor passenger rail connection between Dallas/Fort Worth and Atlanta, Georgia—through Mineola, Longview, Marshall, Texas and northern Louisiana.

This important East-West passenger rail route across the Southern region has been long collaborated on and advocated for by RTPO elected officials in the ETCOG region and the 1st Congressional District of Texas, currently represented by Congressman Nathaniel Moran. The RTPO has been working, in coordination with the non-profit I-20 Corridor Council, on this passenger rail project for more than 15 years.

Earlier this month, the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) announced that the I-20 Corridor Intercity Passenger Rail Service was one of the selections of FRA’s Corridor Identification and Development Program.

This news conference is designed to provide, for the media and public, more information about this important Corridor Identification milestone for the I-20 Corridor passenger rail project. Please see the attached list for the names of the members of the RTPO Board.

About I-20 Corridor Council

The I-20 Corridor Council was formed to re-establish passenger rail service along the Interstate 20 Corridor, connecting Fort Worth, Texas to Atlanta, Georgia, through northeast Texas, northern Louisiana, and Central Mississippi, also connecting to Washington, D.C., and New York City. The efforts in support of this route commenced in 2004 and gained momentum in 2007 with the assistance of renewed grassroots volunteer efforts and federal grant funding. Originally designated as the East Texas Corridor Council, and then the Ark-La-Tex Corridor Council, as grassroots efforts built and a multi-state coalition grew to include Louisiana, Mississippi, and other stakeholders along the route, the name was changed to the I-20 Corridor Council. Learn more about NADO at


The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts and special districts within the fourteen-county East Texas region. ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly, or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers, and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call delivery system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services; and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, and environmental grant funding for the region.

Media Contact:

Lindsay Vanderbilt

Director of Communications

(903) 218-6442

East Texas Council of Governments | (903) 218-6400 |
Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  Linkedin  Youtube
East Texas Council of Governments | 3800 Stone RoadKilgore, TX 75662

Leave a Comment