Skip to content

UT Tyler Professor Recognized by UT System for Contributions to Health Education

Dr. Melinda Hermanns, School of Nursing professor at The University of Texas at Tyler, has been selected as a member of The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, MD, Academy of Health Science Education.

“Dr. Hermanns is a stellar example of the caliber of our faculty, and we are proud to have her selected to represent us in the prestigious Shine Academy,” said UT Tyler President Kirk A. Calhoun, MD, FACP.

The Shine Academy’s mission is to serve the UT System through the support and promotion of excellence in all aspects of health science education, educational scholarship and leadership. It is a working service academy and honorific body that recognizes 16 faculty candidates in the UT System who embody its dedication to health science education.

“I am deeply honored and privileged to be selected as a member of Shine Academy,” said Hermanns. “I am grateful for the unwavering support of my colleagues and the outstanding educational community at UT Tyler, and I look forward to contributing to the Academy’s mission of promoting excellence in the health professions.”

Hermanns was also awarded as an Outstanding Faculty by Texas Alpha Xi Chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society, previously inducted into the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education and recognized as one of East Texas’ Healthcare Heroes – Nurses by UT Tyler. She obtained her PhD in nursing from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and her post-bachelor’s certificate in nursing informatics, quality & safety from UT Tyler.

”Throughout her career, Dr. Hermanns has demonstrated her commitment to health care education, and we are very proud for her to receive this recognition,” said Dr. Julie V. Philley, executive vice president for UT Tyler health affairs. “She is a credit to our School of Nursing, UT Tyler and the East Texas community.”

Other notable Shine Academy members from UT Tyler Health Affairs include Dr. Jeff Levin (2014), Dr. Emmanuel Elueze (2017), Dr. Gerald Ledlow (2021), Dr. Barbara Haas (2022) and Dr. Patti B. Olusola (2023). Dr. Sue Cox also received this high honor and served as president over the academy from 2007-2009.

With a mission to improve educational and health care outcomes for East Texas and beyond, UT Tyler offers more than 90 undergraduate and graduate programs to nearly 10,000 students. Through its alignment with UT Tyler Health Science Center and UT Health East Texas, UT Tyler has unified these entities to serve Texas with quality education, cutting-edge research and excellent patient care. Classified by Carnegie as a doctoral research institution and by U.S. News & World Report as a national university, UT Tyler has campuses in Tyler, Longview, Palestine and Houston.

Leave a Comment