Skip to content

GoBus Wins Marketing Spotlight Awards from South West Transit Association

Kilgore, September 13, 2023 — The East Texas Council of Governments’ rural transit system, GoBus, is pleased to be a recipient of the South West Transit Association’s (SWTA) annual Spotlight Awards, which recognizes excellence in marketing and outreach efforts produced by transit providers across SWTA’s eight-state region.

The SWTA Annual Spotlight Awards aim to foster excellence and innovation within the transit industry, highlighting best practices and inspiring continuous improvement. The selection process involved rigorous evaluation by a panel of industry experts, who assessed each entry based on criteria such as creativity, impact, community engagement, and overall effectiveness.

“We extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners of the SWTA Annual Spotlight Awards,” said Rich Sampson, Executive Director of the Southwest Transit Association. “These exceptional projects and initiatives showcase the dedication, creativity, and commitment of public transportation agencies in delivering high-quality services and enhancing the lives of communities they serve.”

ETCOG received four awards for campaigns or materials produced in promoting the GoBus hiring events, the Canton Cruiser program, the East Texas Giving Day partnership with Camp V, and an educational video for potential hires. Awards received include:

  • Spotlight Campaign – Category 1 Systems
  • Hit The Spot Award: Electronic – Category 1 Systems
  • Hit The Spot Award: Event – Category 1 Systems
  • Hit The Spot Award: Social Media – Category 1 Systems

“This is a very exciting win, and the Communications team is delighted to be recognized in this way,” said ETCOG’s Communications Director, Lindsay Vanderbilt. “Staff has taken great measures to diversify communication delivery and heighten campaign effectiveness. It’s been great to collaborate with so many individuals on the ETCOG team to bring these messages to the public.”

A member of the ETCOG communications team joined other award recipients and marketing experts to share details on their award-winning campaigns and projects at the SWTA Summer University Conference held August 14-16, 2023, in Witchita, Kansas.

The awards – reviewed and judged by marketing and communication professionals at transit agencies and private marketing firms – are among the oldest awards recognizing marketing campaigns and projects in the public transportation industry, first awarded in 1990. SWTA’s membership covers Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts, and special districts within the fourteen-county East Texas region. ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers, and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call delivery system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services, and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, and environmental grant funding for the region.
About GoBus
ETCOG’s rural transportation system, GoBus, is available for all rural residents to access safe, reliable, and friendly public transportation. GoBus provides daily local service within Anderson, Camp, Cherokee, Harrison, Henderson, Marion, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood counties, and the non-urbanized areas of Gregg and Smith counties. GoBus provides trips from the rural areas into the urbanized areas of Longview or Tyler on Tuesdays & Thursdays. Book a trip by calling 800-590-3371 to speak with our dispatch office. Find out more about GoBus at
Media Contact:
Lindsay Vanderbilt
Director of Communications
(903) 218-6442
Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  YouTube  LinkedIn
East Texas Council of Governments | 3800 Stone RoadKilgore, TX 75662

Leave a Comment