Skip to content

Texas Emergency Management Conference Concludes with Record Turnout in Fort Worth

TDEM Announces The Conference Will Return to the Fort Worth Convention Center in 2024

FORT WORTH – As the educational workshops, panel discussions, and networking opportunities at the Texas Emergency Management Conference conclude, the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) reports record-setting turnout for the largest emergency management conference in the nation.

Approximately 4,000 attendees from over 35 states and 4 countries registered to attend The Conference, which brought together first responders, emergency managers from local jurisdictions, elected officials, state and federal agencies, tribal communities, private sector partners, and other decision-makers from across the country. This four day event, the largest of its kind in the nation, provided an unparalleled opportunity for access to latest technology, exchange of ideas, and research in the field of emergency management.

“TDEM is proud to host this first-rate event that showcases excellence in emergency management and opportunities for growth in our field,” said Texas Emergency Management Chief Nim Kidd. “Through our expansive exhibit hall, nearly 200 informational workshops, and awards recognitions, we continue to highlight the many ways all levels of government and industry work to protect life and property across the state.”

During its awards luncheon ceremony on Thursday, TDEM announced the winners of the Texas Emergency Management Awards, recognizing the accomplishments of those in the emergency management field in Texas during the past year. The ceremony included a new recognition, the News Flash Award, acknowledging journalistic excellence on emergency management issues.

Winners were selected based on various criteria for each category, but each ultimately proved their leadership, courage, and dedication to serving their communities during times of disaster.

Texas Emergency Management Hall of Fame​ – Chief Shawn Snider (Hidalgo County), Molly McFadden (Tarrant County), William “Wild Bill” Wheeler (Harris County)

Induction to the Texas Emergency Management Hall of Fame is for those who have dedicated their life to enhancing emergency management in the state and the nation. These men and women represent the best of us in leading by example, charting new courses, and motivating us to find the best in ourselves. Our lives are better because they have served and show us what it means to be experts in our field.

Texas Emergency Management Hometown Hero​ – Avalon Sykes (Fort Bend County)

The Emergency Management Hometown Hero Award recognizes an individual or group that exhibited extraordinary service and leadership in helping fellow residents during an emergency situation, disaster or crisis scene.

Texas Emergency Management Spouse of the Year​ – Jennifer Bardwell (Upshur County)

This award recognizes a spouse who not only contributes to emergency management by supporting their spouse but also makes their own contributions to emergency management community.

Texas Emergency Management Partnership Recognition – South Texas Blood & Tissue (Bexar County)

The Texas Emergency Management Partnership Award recognizes agencies that demonstrated a significant commitment to creating a strong partnership with the local government officials and participation in local community preparedness initiatives.

The Doctor Chuck Bauer Award – Texas Military Department

The Dr. Chuck Bauer Award recognizes medical professionals and their contributions to emergency management through incident response, disaster planning or other provision of healthcare or instructional preparedness.

Texas Emergency Management News Flash Award – KAMR/KCIT/ (Potter County)

The Texas Emergency Management News Flash Award honors excellence in journalism tied to a particular event or disaster including breaking news coverage, or impactful storytelling that informs the public of a disaster threat in the community that helps save lives and property. This reporting may also include educational information on the main phases of emergency management: preparedness, response, recovery and hazard mitigation.

Texas Emergency Management Agency of the Year​ – BorderRAC (El Paso County)

The Texas Emergency Management Council Agency of the Year Award recognizes outstanding support provided by an agency to the communities of Texas during disasters.

FEMA Region 6 Preparedness Award – Mart High School CERT (McLennan County)

This award recognized youth community preparedness efforts in communities covered by FEMA Region 6. This was the sixth year for the FEMA Region 6 Community Preparedness Awards All nominations came from state community preparedness program managers – votes were cast by FEMA Region 6 Community Preparedness Working Group members designated by state program managers.

Texas Emergency Management Leadership Award​ – Connie Vega (Pecos County)

The Texas Emergency Management Leadership Award recognizes an individual, within or outside the formal emergency management community whose outstanding achievements demonstrated a positive and dramatic change in emergency management departments and/or the community.

Additionally, Chief Kidd and Fort Worth Mayor Mattie Parker announced the 2024 Texas Emergency Management Conference will take place at the Fort Worth Convention Center from May 28-31, 2023. Registration information for The Conference 2024 will be announced at a later date.

TX EM Conference exhibit hall 2023(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Frank Hicks)

Conference 2023 Opening Session Jordan1(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Jordan Prokell)

TX EM Conference 2023 Partnership award(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Frank Hicks)

TX EM conference 2023 tmd chuck bauer award(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Frank Hicks)

TX EM Conference 2023 Workshops(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Frank Hicks)

TX EM 2023 Conference News Flash(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Frank Hicks)

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Leave a Comment