Skip to content

TEXAS A&M-COMMERCE TRACK & FIELD: Smith, Edwin shatter facility records to close out East Texas Invitational

Email Header 2

4/15/2023 | Men’s Track and Field
COMMERCE – J.T. Smith and Delan Edwin shattered their own facility records at Memorial Stadium to close out the East Texas Invitational on Saturday for the Texas A&M University-Commerce track and field teams.

The Lions honored their 18 graduating seniors on Saturday. The seniors are Evelyn Brown (Paris), Timothy Carr (Waco – La Vega), Edwin (Castries, Saint Lucia), Micky Ferdinand (Micoud, Saint Lucia), Tyris Jefferson (Tyler – Lee), Sofia Khenfar (Lyon, France), Cameron Macon (Dallas – Carter), Brooklyn Matthews (Commerce), Cooper Miller (Sulphur Bluff), Naomi Ndukwe (Perserville, France), Axel Paolucci (Lyon, France), Aiden Pelphrey (Princeton), Julia Seigerroth (Jonkoping, Sweden), Destiny Skidmore (Marshfield, Mo.), Smith (Klein Oak), Tamara Susa (Novi Sad, Serbia), and Imani Taylor (Sulphur Springs).

Smith broke his own facility record in the 100 meter dash, while Edwin broke his own record as well in the 200 meter dash. Due to high winds in Commerce on Saturday, the marks cannot count towards school or national records, but do count for facility records.

Full results of the East Texas Invitational can be found HERE.


Leah Pettis (McKinney North) ran a time of 11.61 seconds to win the 100 meter dash. Ashley Benton (Waxahachie Life) and Laderria Myers (Wilmer – Ennis) went 6-7 with times of 12.11 and 12.14, respectively.

The Lions went 1-2 in the 200 meter dash with Mariana Shostak (Lviv, Ukraine) running a time of 24.14 for first, while Bre’Anna Lacy (Waxahachie Life) timed 24.72 seconds for second. Ndukwe recorded a time of 25.16 seconds for fifth and Myers went seventh with a time of 25.33 seconds.

Shostak also won the 400 meter dash with a time of 54.99 seconds. Khenfar timed 57.49 seconds for second and Maia Maury (Noisy-Le-Grand, France) timed 57.50 seconds for third.

In the 800 meter run, Nour Almasri (Mansfield Summit) timed 2:24.89 for fourth. Alondra Campa (Kaufman) placed fifth in the 5,000 meter run with a time of 19:41.84, Bailey Neal (Sulphur Bluff) clocked in at 20:00.45 for seventh and Cailey Johnson (Winchester, Va.) timed 20:11.01 for eighth.

Elizabeth Ortiz (Palacios) timed 14.83 seconds for third in the 100 meter hurdles.

The 4×100 ‘A’ team of Pettis, Benton, Khenfar, and Shostak won the race with a time of 47.19 seconds. To close out the meet, Aquilino, Ndukwe, Khenfar, and Shostak timed 3:54.73 to win the 4×400 meter relay.

The Lions also went 1-2-3 in the high jump with Veronika Kramarenko (Zaporizhzhia, Ukraine) clearing 5 feet 8.75 inches (1.75m), while Jenneil Jacobie (Piat Gros Islet, Saint Lucia) cleared 5 feet 6 inches (1.68m) for second, and Maury cleared 5 feet 5 inches (1.65m) for third.

Dejah Fuller (Waxahachie Life) had a jump of 38 feet 8.25 inches (11.79m) in the triple jump, tying Amaka Ezukanma (Fort Worth – Timber Creek) for first with the same mark, while Audrey Uzoukwu (North Garland) took third with a mark of 37 feet 10 inches (11.53m). Trinity Hall (Commerce) finished fourth with a mark of 36 feet 9.75 inches (11.22m), Taylor took sixth with a mark of 35 feet 7.75 inches (10.86m), and Goodness Okoh (North Garland) took eighth with a mark of 33 feet 10 inches (10.31m).

Over at the throws, De’Maya Stokes (Dallas – DeSoto) had a mark of 32 feet 3.50 inches (9.84m) for third. She also took seventh in the discus with a mark of 102 feet (31.08m) and Loyce Juiye (Mansfield Legacy) finished eighth with a mark of 101 feet 8 inches (30.99m).

Smith clocked in at 9.95 seconds to set the new facility record. Edwin timed at 10.06 seconds, Tyke Owens (Lebanon Trail) took fifth with a time of 10.40 seconds, Macon timed 10.55 seconds for sixth.

In the 200 meter dash, Edwin and Smith went 1-2 with times of 20.14 and 20.28 seconds, respectively. Adrian Taylor (Cape Town, South Africa) clocked in at 21.59 seconds for fourth, Eddie Barrientes (Chisholm Trail) took sixth with a time of 21.75 seconds and Jarrett Gormer (Duncanville) clocked in at 22.17 seconds for seventh.

Philip Krenek (Kostelní Strimelice, Czech Republic) went second in the 400 meter dash with a time of 49.15 seconds, Taylor timed 49.19 for third, Ziphion Reevey (Ocean Township, N.J.) timed 49.75 seconds for fourth, Barrientes timed 50.04 seconds for sixth, and Chandler King (Hughes Springs) clocked in at 51.30 seconds for eighth.

In the 800 meter run, Nicholas Deutsch (Frisco) clocked in at 1:57.81 for fourth, Jan Lenfert (Buckenhof, Germany) timed 1:58.95 for fifth, Christian Bridgeman (Hazlet – Northwest Eaton) timed 1:59.14 for sixth, and Tristen Sabin (Frisco – Independence) timed 1:59.88 for seventh.

Joshua Schutter (Rowlett – Sachse) clocked in at 4:01.63 for second, Lenfert timed 4:08.21 for third, Ace Garcia (Burleson) clocked in at 4:09.62, and Mason White (Argyle) timed 4:14.96 for eighth in the 1,500 meter run.

In the 5,000 meter run, Alex Speer (Robinson) won the race with a time of 15:12.67 while Casey Novelo (Trinity) timed 15:32.80 for second.

Macon won the 110 meter hurdles with a time of 14.30 seconds, Miles Noble (McKinney Boyd) took sixth with a time of 15.16 seconds, and Jordan Johnson (Guateng, South Africa) timed 15.23 seconds for eighth.

Chris Navarrete (Laredo – Lyndon B. Johnson) finished second in the 3,000 meter steeplechase with a time of 10:23.62, while Miller took third with a time of 11:07.57, and Colten Van Voorhis (Prosper – Rock Hill) timed 11:52.02 for fifth.

The 4×100 relay team of Ibrahim Fuseini (Accra, Ghana), Smith, Edwin, and Macon timed 39.72 to win the race. The 4×400 meter relay ‘A’ team of Barrientes, Krenek, Reevey, and Conner Stockerl (The Woodlands) timed 3:20.61.

In the field events, Pelphrey cleared 6 feet 4.75 inches (1.95m) for third. Franklin won the triple jump with a mark of 49 feet 3.75 inches (15.03m).

Gavin Edwards (Tarkington) won the shot put with a mark of 42 feet 2 inches (12.85m), Trey Wheeler (Scurry – Rosser) took second with a mark of 36 feet 5.75 inches (11.12m), while Brayden Jeanotte (Horace, N.D.) took third with a mark of 35 feet 5.75 inches (10.81m).

Edwards took second in the discus with a mark of 137 feet 5 inches (41.88m) and Jeanotte took sixth with a mark of 110 feet 4 inches (33.62m).

The Lions compete in the Michael Johnson Invitational at Baylor next Friday and Saturday, which is the last meet away from Memorial Stadium this season.

Leave a Comment