Skip to content

Annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest planned for May 5th

Daniel Landaverde, NTCC McGraw-Hill Competitor in 2019-2020.

Pictured: Daniel Landaverde, NTCC McGraw-Hill Competitor in 2019-2020. He is a recent Winner of a Jack Kent Cooke and is currently an associate with Marsh, a global leader in insurance brokerage and risk consulting

By: Dr. Andrew Yox, Honors Director

The Fifteenth Annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest is set for Friday, May 5th at 9:30 a.m. in the foyer of the Whatley Center for the Performing Arts at Northeast Texas Community College. This contest recognizes and rewards creative student scholarship in Northeast Texas. Area high school seniors, college and university students are welcome to compete. Prizes range from $100 for fourth place to $400 for first place. Community judges will determine a project’s contribution to scholarship, the persuasiveness of its author, and the quality of the overall presentation. The student posters must reflect new and original research, performed in this past year of 2022-23.

This year’s event is beholden to Beverly Kelley of Mount Vernon, a major patron of many initiatives of Honors Northeast.

The 25 scholars of Honors Northeast will compete.  Other students wishing to enter the contest should send an abstract of 100 words to Dr. Andrew Yox, Honors Director, at explaining why their project represents an original work of scholarship by noon, 4 May. Yox can also offer advice and help regarding posters and protocol for the one-hour contest. Contestants on 5 May will set up before 9:30 AM in the Whatley Foyer, and judges will circulate among the contestants from 9:30 AM to 10:30 AM. The winners will be announced at 11 a.m. in the Whatley Foyer on 5 May, soon after the judging.

NTCC Presidential Scholars, the top tier of Honors Northeast, have dominated the contest with two exceptions.  In 2021, Brian Ramirez, an Honors Scholar, won with a poster about his film productions as a director at NTCC.  In 2011, a non-honors NTCC history major, Jared Adams, won first place. Besides these exceptions, Presidential Scholars Isaac Griffin (2012), Stephani Calderon (2013), Noah Griffin (2014) Kayleah Cumpian (2015), Cassia Rose (2016), William Jones (2017), Matthew Chambers (2018), Olivia Griffin (2019), Karla Fuentes (2020) and Skylar Fondren (2022) have won the top prizes. Four of the recent winners were also able to gain extremely competitive national awards such as the Guistwhite, the Jack Kent Cooke award, and the All-USA Team. Eight of the twelve most recent winners have also been sophomores.

Even as the competition unfolds, visitors are welcome to learn from the contestants. Admission is free. Anyone wishing to participate should contact Dr. Yox at or 903-434-8229. The winners of previous poster contests and a video to help judges better prepare for the event can be found here.

Leave a Comment