Skip to content

ETCOG to Honor East Texans for Exemplary Contributions to the Region at Board of Directors Meeting on Thursday
Marshall, March 21, 2023: ETCOG will honor regional citizens and organizations who exemplify excellence in performance, innovation, and contribute to the quality of life within the communities that comprise our fourteen-county region. The awards listed below will be conferred at ETCOG’s 103rd Semi-Annual Board of Directors Meeting on Thursday, March 23rd, at Bear Creek Smokehouse from 11:45 am to 2:00 pm. Award criteria and recipient information are as follows:
Tyler Stroschein, Longview Police Department
Darren Renshaw, Emory Volunteer Fire Department / Rains County Sherrif Department Reserve Deputy
Recognizes first responders who have rendered extraordinary service, putting their lives on the line for our safety while performing their duties as peace officers, firemen, EMS and dispatchers, DPS officers, and troopers.
Kilgore Mayor Ronnie Spradlin, III & Dr. Beverly Waddleton Johnson of Quitman, TX
This award is designed to honor a citizen of East Texas who has contributed to the well-being of the East Texas Region.
Northeast Texas Public Health District
The Regional Corporate Citizen of the Year award honors a corporate partner in East Texas that has contributed to the well-being of the East Texas Region.
Former Anderson County Judge, Robert Johnston
The Regional Statesmanship Award recognizes a local, state, or federal official that has demonstrated valuable, dedicated service to regional cooperation.
Kristy Swan Range, EasTexConnects Committee
The Regional Committee Service Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated a sustained, dedicated commitment to ETCOG efforts and activities.
“We are proud to announce the return of our regional awards ceremony after a three-year hiatus, where we will recognize and celebrate the remarkable contributions of individuals, elected officials, and organizations that have made a positive impact on our region, said ETCOG Executive Director David Cleveland. “This event is a tribute to those who have shown exceptional dedication and leadership in their respective fields and made a significant difference in the lives of the people they serve. We look forward to gathering the ETCOG Board together to honor these outstanding members of our community and to showcase their achievements.”
Details of award recipient contributions and photos will be sent following the meeting.
The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts, and special districts within the fourteen-county East Texas region. ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers, and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call delivery system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services, and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, and environmental grant funding for the region.
East Texas Council of Governments | (903) 218-6400 |
Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
East Texas Council of Governments | 3800 Stone RoadKilgore, TX 75662

Leave a Comment