Skip to content

Southland Conference Announces Plans for 2022 Football Media Day

Email Header 2

Southland Conference Announces Plans for 2022 Football Media Day
Head coaches, student-athletes will preview the upcoming season from Lake Charles

FRISCO, Texas – The Southland Conference Football Media Day, presented by B1 Patches, is set for Wednesday, July 20, at the L’Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles. The event will air live on an ESPN+, with the broadcast running from 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m. CT.

The show will be hosted by Southland announcer Jack Benjamin. The day will open with comments from Southland Conference Commissioner Chris Grant, along with Lake Charles Mayor Nic Hunter and Visit Lake Charles Senior VP of Sales Eric Zartler, followed by 25-minute interviews with each school’s trio of head coach and two student-athletes.

The ESPN+ broadcast is available via and the ESPN app. Archived video of each team’s press conference and select quotes from each attendee will be made available after the conclusion of the event.

In addition to the press conferences, coaches will also take part in social media segments, which fans can follow live on the Southland Conference TwitterInstagramand TikTok accounts.

2022 Football Media Day Lineup |Wednesday, July 20 (All times Central)

10:00a-10:25a Main Stage: Southland Conference Commissioner Chris Grant,
Lake Charles Mayor Nic Hunter, Visit Lake Charles SVP of Sales Eric Zartler

10:30a-10:55a Main Stage: UIW HC G.J. Kinne, WR Taylor Grimes, LB Kelechi Anyalebechi

11:00a-11:25a Main Stage: A&M-Commerce HC David Bailiff, RB J.T. Smith, LB Dee Walker

11:30a-11:55a Main Stage: HBU HC Vic Shealy, WR Vernon Harrell, LB Brennan Young

12:00p-12:25p Main Stage: Southeastern HC Frank ScelfoWR CJ Turner, DB Donniel Ward-Magee

12:30p-12:55p Main Stage: Nicholls HC Tim ReboweQB Kohen Granier, DL Glen Thurmond

1:00p-1:25p Main Stage: Northwestern State HC Brad LairdWR Javon Antonio, CB Shemar Bartholomew

1:30p-1:55p Main Stage: Lamar HC Blane Morgan, WR Jalen Dummett, DL Jack McCarthy

2:00p-2:25p Main Stage: McNeese HC Gary GoffWR Mason Pierce, DL CJ Semien

Leave a Comment