Skip to content

ETCOG CEO/RTPO Board Chair, Judge Robert Johnston, Receives Distinguished Service Award from Texas Transit Association
East Texas, February 25, 2022: ETCOG is pleased to announce its Chairman of the Chief Elected Officials / Rural Transportation Planning Organization Board, Anderson County Judge Robert Johnston, has received the Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Transit Association (TTA). Judge Johnston was honored with the award yesterday in Austin at one of the largest transit conferences held in the nation, the 2022 Joint Annual Conference, Expo, and Roadeo hosted by the TTA and South West Transit Association (SWTA).
TTA’s Distinguished Service Award is given to a state or local elected official who has substantially assisted in the advancement of public transit in the state of Texas. Judge Johnston was selected for the award because of his outstanding work supporting transportation in East Texas.
“Judge Johnston is not only a County Judge but Chairman of the fourteen-county East Texas Rural Transportation Planning Organization, a member of the ETCOG Board of Directors, and Chairman of the ETCOG Chief Elected Board of Officials, and the President-Elect of the Texas Association of Regional Councils Board, among others. He has diligently worked with ETCOG since 2011 and has supported many positive improvements for public transportation during this time. His continuous support of GoBus and transit-related projects in East Texas has aided in the ability for the transportation of thousands of citizens in need. Judge Johnston is a well-respected member of the region due to his humble heart and commitment to public service. We appreciate his dedication to the entire East Texas Region and his commitment to providing excellence for our customers,” said ETCOG Executive Director David Cleveland.
“I am honored to receive this award from TTA and am grateful for the recognition that comes with it,” said Judge Johnston. “The reason why I decided to run for public office in the first place was that I wanted to make a positive difference in the lives of the citizens I serve. In my view, that is what is most important. Thank you to TTA for conferring this award on me! I appreciate it.”
More than 700 transit industry leaders, professionals, and business partners have gathered for the annual conference at the Austin Convention Center this week. TTA was organized in 1986, and its members are Texas metropolitan, small urban, and rural transit agencies and private and public entities from across the United States. TTA’s purpose is to educate the people of Texas about issues affecting the public transit industry within the state.
The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is a voluntary association of counties, cities, school districts, and special districts within the fourteen-county East Texas region. ETCOG assists local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. Established in 1970, ETCOG, either directly or through its contractors, provides programs and services for East Texas seniors, employers, and job seekers. ETCOG and its contractors also build the 9-1-1 emergency call delivery system, provide peace officer training and homeland security planning services, and deliver rural transportation services, business finance programs, and environmental grant funding for the region.
East Texas Council of Governments | (903) 218-6400 |
Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Leave a Comment