Buckeyes dominate 17-3A All-District team
Dec 15, 2008 | 1723 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
view slideshow (3 images)
The Gilmer Buckeyes placed 29 players on the District 17-3A All-District team released this week. Stump Godfrey, Mikey Wilson and Gus Osborne received superlative honors, while 17 Buckeyes made the first team and nine more made the second team. Six other Gilmer players were named honorable mention.

“When 35 of your kids get some kind of recognition, that's one heck of a year,” said Gilmer head coach Jeff Traylor, who was honored as Coach of the Year along with his staff.

Godfrey, the Buckeyes' junior quarterback, shared district MVP honors with Chapel Hill running back Matthew Tucker. Godfrey passed for 2,883 yards and 34 touchdowns, while running for 885 yards and 18 touchdowns in leading the Buckeyes to a 12-2 record.

Wilson, a junior linebacker, was named co-defensive MVP with Chapel Hill nose guard Kadarius Reeder. Wilson had 144 tackles for the Buckeyes and led the team in turnovers, collecting four interceptions and three fumble recoveries, to help the Buckeyes' Black Flag Defense hold district opponents to 9.4 points per game.

Osborne, a sophomore defensive end, was named the newcomer of the year on defense after racking up 77 tackles, 18 quarterback pressures, 10 sacks, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Bullard quarterback Charlie Moore was named the district's offensive MVP, while B.J. Allen and Corey Davis of Gladewater were named as co-newcomers of the year on offense.

“I was a little disappointed with the superlatives, to be honest. I thought our play in district was evidence that we should have had more kids with superlatives,” said Traylor. “But I do understand there were a lot of great players in our district this year. Matthew Tucker is a big-time division one player. Charlie Moore is a big-time division one player.”

Gilmer placed nine players on the first team offense, thanks to an offensive unit that rolled up 6,515 yards in 14 games.

Junior running back Jeremy Jackson was named to the first team after rushing for 1,002 yards and 11 touchdowns on only 115 carries. Jackson also had 144 yards and three touchdowns on 12 receptions.

Senior receivers Zack Jones, Hunter Harrison and Prentiss Bell all received first team honors. Jones had 27 catches for 499 yards and four touchdowns. Harrison had 368 yards and four touchdowns on only 19 receptions, while Bell caught 28 passes for 432 yards and six touchdowns.

Senior Dakota Hagler joined juniors Beau Blair and Jacob Jenkins on the offensive line.

Sophomore Adan Olivares received first team kicker honors.

On defense, the Buckeyes placed nine more players on the first team.

Senior Jonathon Rockwell's 90 tackles and junior Luis Castro's 87 tackles, four sacks and 13 quarterback pressures placed both on the first team defensive line.

Juniors Marlon Granville and Vance Green were honored for their play from the linebacker position. Granville had 100 tackles, while Green led the team with 159 tackles.

Juniors Tristan Holt, Paul Chesnut and Braylon Webb joined together in the first team secondary. Holt had 35 tackles and three interceptions from his cornerback position. Strong safety Chesnut led the team with five interceptions, while making 82 tackles. Webb contributed 68 tackles, four interceptions and two fumble recoveries as the Buckeyes' strong safety.

Gilmer senior D.J. Stanley was named to the defensive first team as a utility player, while freshman Luke Turner was recognized for his outstanding special teams play.

Following the Buckeyes' 29 All-District selections were Chapel Hill and Tatum with 15 selections each. Gladewater and Spring Hill each had 12 players named, while Bullard placed nine players on the team.

Buckeyes making the second team included:

Josh Thompson (Sr.), RB; Kedon Franklin (Jr.), Daniel McLaren (Jr.), REC; Caleb Denton (Jr.), Jared Harborth (Sr), OL; Luke Turner (Fr.), P; Jacob Ramsey (Sr.), Hayden Holmes (Sr.), DL; J.T. Beecham (Jr.), ILB.

Honorable Mention list included the following Buckeyes: Tevin Godfrey, Tyrone Fort, Dustin Hardin, Michael Boddie, Joseph Crocker and Xavier Easley.

Gilmer Buckeyes GilmerBuckeyes.com
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet