Judge Fowler to seek district judgeship
Dec 12, 2017 | 2339 views | 1 1 comments | 255 255 recommendations | email to a friend | print
County Judge Dean Fowler filed Monday to run in the March 6 Republican primary primary for the 115th district judgeship, a post elected by voters in Upshur and Marion counties.

Fowler, who filed with the state, is seeking the post being vacated by Lauren Parish, a Democrat who announced she would not seek a seventh 4-year term.

While Joe Newsom has announced for Fowler’s post, so far only businessman Larry Morse has filed to run for county judge, and Pct. 4 Commissioner Mike Spencer has said he was seriously considering running for that judgeship.

Several candidates for county offices have filed notices of their campaign treasurers with county Election Administrator Lory Harle’s office, but had not filed in any party primary as of late Tuesday morning.

District Attorney Billy Byrd and Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace Rhonda Welch filed for re-election to their respective fourth 4-year terms last week, said Upshur County Republican Party Chairman Cynthia Ridgeway.

Not counting Fowler, who is in his fourth term, that brings to 10 the number of GOP candidates who had filed to run for various Upshur County public offices by late Tuesday morning. Others have announced candidacies, but not filed.

No candidates for county public office had filed in the March 6 Democratic primary by Tuesday morning, although some candidates have filed for Upshur County Democratic Party office, and county Democratic Chairman Dan Miles Jr. said Tuesday he expects some candidates to file for county office “eventually.”.

Ridgeway, meanwhile, said she planned to pick up County Treasurer Brandy Vick’s application to seek re-election to a second term on Tuesday and that Russell Harris has announced he will challenge Pct. 1 Justice of the Peace Wyone Manes in her bid for re-election in the primary. Although Manes has filed a campaign treasurer, neither she nor Harris has formally filed to run in the GOP primary.

Harle’s office said other candidates who have filed campaign treasurers include Gilmer attorney Joe Newsom, a former county Democratic chairman who has said he will run in the Republican primary for county judge; Claudette Bennett for county clerk, Jurel White for county treasurer and Joyce Peoples for district clerk.

Vick, Byrd, Welch and County Clerk Terri Ross, who has filed for re-election to a second term, had no announced primary opponents as of Monday, but District Clerk Karen Bunn is opposed for re-election to a second term in the GOP race by her former deputy clerk, Nicole Hernandez.

Spencer has said he will not seek re-election to a third term, and two candidates have filed for his post, James Still and Jay Miller. In addition, Robert Perry has announced he will seek the Pct. 4 commissioner office, has filed his campaign treasurer, and Ridgeway said he plans to run in the GOP primary.

Dustin Nicholson is the only candidate to file for the Pct. 2 county commissioner’s post being vacated by Don Gross, while ex-Sheriff Anthony Betterton is the only official candidate so far for the Pct. 4 justice of the peace post being vacated by Rebecca Skinner. Gross and Skinner are both in their first terms.

Pct. 2 Justice of the Peace Lyle Potter, a Republican, has designated a campaign treasurer in his bid for re-election, but had not filed for the primary as of Tuesday.

In the Democratic primary, Miles announced last week that Winifred Jackson has filed to oppose him in his bid for re-election.

In addition, precinct chairman Helen Johnson has filed for re-election in Precinct 8, while Carlyn Short has filed for Pct. 1 chairman and Vernell Jeffery has filed for Pct. 7 chairman, said Miles. Short and Jeffery are not incumbents.

Four Republicans have filed for re-election as party precinct chairmen, most recently Lanette Crittenden in precinct 1. She follows Bill Stenger in precinct 9, Charlie Pelezo in precinct 8, and Ridgeway’s husband, Richard Ridgeway, in precinct 7.

Cynthia Ridgeway said Pct. 3 Chairman Joyce Dolle will not seek another term.

Deadline to file for both the GOP and Democratic primaries is 6 p.m. Monday, Dec. 11.

Ridgeway said she would be at the Lantana center from 4-6 p.m. that day with a notary public. Those wishing to file before then may contact her at 903-736-9615 or 903-968-6822.

Democratic candidates wanting to file can contact Miles at 903-968-2545 or 214-325-9195.

The GOP plans a forum for its primary candidates at 6:30 p.m. Dec. 18 at the Lantana Activity Center near Gilmer, said Ridgeway. And an organizational meeting of Upshur County Women Democrats was scheduled Tuesday night at Lori’s Eats and Sweets in Gilmer.

Announcing it was Mary Lou Tevebaugh, a Longview attorney.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
Charles L Bloss Jr
December 09, 2017
I wish Judge Fowler the best, and hope he prevails. Upshur County could not find a better judge.