James Thrower is 2017 inductee to Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor
by JOSH MANCK, Texas A&M-Commerce
Jul 19, 2017 | 1291 views | 0 0 comments | 37 37 recommendations | email to a friend | print

James Thrower is 2017 inductee to Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor – LINK


RICHARDSON  – The 2017 inductee to the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor is former Texas A&M University-Commerce three-sport standout James Thrower, league officials announced on Wednesday.


Thrower is the sole inductee to the 2017 class of the LSC Hall of Honor, which recognizes outstanding individuals who have brought pride and honor to the conference through their contributions as an athlete or who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the betterment of the conference as a coach or administrator.


Thrower, who is the 12th Lion to be enshrined, was chosen by a panel of athletic administrators throughout the league.


"For the Lone Star Conference and our athletics administrators to recognize James Thrower for this honor is a profound statement about him as a person, as a pioneer in athletics during his time at East Texas State, and also as a role model for all LSC student-athletes to follow as they prepare for the next chapter of life," said Texas A&M University-Commerce President Dr. Ray M. Keck.


"James Thrower has represented 'Best in Class' long before it was our athletics mission at Texas A&M University-Commerce, and he is truly a man of honor," A&M-Commerce Director of Athletics Tim McMurray said. "To that end, I commend our Lone Star Conference colleagues for selecting him for this deserving honor.  It also sends a strong message to our current student-athletes about where dedication, commitment, and hard work can take you."


"I'm excited to announce the addition of James Thrower to the Lone Star Conference Hall of Honor. His tremendous success as a student-athlete, in the NFL, and in his professional career have brought great pride to the LSC. He is most deserving of this honor," said LSC Commissioner Jay Poerner.


Thrower, class of 1970, was a three-sport athlete at East Texas State University, where he participated on the Lions' football, basketball, and track and field teams, and majored in English and physical education.


The Camden, Ark., native came to ETSU on a basketball scholarship, but it was on the football field that he truly excelled. As a three-year starter on the football team, he intercepted 12 passes for 135 yards. He also earned a varsity letter in basketball and two in track and field as a member of the 440-yard relay team and in the high jump.


Following his playing days at ETSU, Thrower went on to a six-year career in the NFL. He spent three seasons as a defensive back with the Philadelphia Eagles, and an additional three seasons as a defensive back for the Detroit Lions.


After a knee injury in 1975, Thrower transitioned into corporate America serving as a loan executive and as an executive assistant to the board chairman of the NAACP. Thrower formerly served on the City of Detroit Board of Water Commissioners and is the president and CEO of Jamjomar, Inc.  He and his wife, Marla, are both owner/operators of numerous McDonald's franchises - Marla in the Detroit metropolitan area and James in the New Orleans area.  


The Throwers are very active in other corporate and community groups including the McDonald's Operators National Advertising Committee, National Black McDonald's Association, Ronald McDonald Children's Charities, National Football League Alumni Players Association, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Golden Heritage, and the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity. They are members of Oak Grove African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church, and have four children, James II, Jamar, Joni, and Marissa.  Each of the Thrower children are also McDonald's owners/operators, totaling 29 franchises owned and operated in the family.


Thrower and his wife Marla are proud to have provided the leadership gift to the Thrower Student-Athlete Success Center, which is the premier academic and success support center for student-athletes in all of Division II. He was honored as a Distinguished Alumnus at A&M-Commerce in 2012, and was inducted into the Lion Athletics Hall of Fame in 2010.






Induction Year

Jesse Hawthorne



Delmer Brown



Wade Wilson



Ernest Hawkins



Lewis Ingraham "L.I." Smith



Sam McCord



Dr. Bill Crabtree



Arthur James



Harvey Martin



Dwight White



Autry Beamon



James Thrower

Football, Basketball, Track & Field






Josh Manck


Assistant Athletics Director for Communications | Texas A&M University-Commerce


Committed to a "Best In Class" student-athlete experience. 


Connect with us on our Lions’ Den Social Stream.


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet