Longview World of Wonders recognizes Youth Advisory Council
Jul 06, 2014 | 1709 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Longview World of Wonders’ Youth Advisory Council spent its inaugural year helping raise awareness about efforts to open a hands-on children’s discovery center in downtown Longview.

LongviewWOW created the advisory council to give youth an avenue to have input into the creation of a hands-on discovery center and to get involved in service learning projects.

LongviewWOW previously had a youth committee, before 2013-14, that was made up of primarily younger children. That group developed the organization’s name, “Longview World of Wonders,” in 2009.

The Youth Advisory Council, which consists of junior high and high school students, in 2013-14 helped develop ideas for exhibits and activities inside the planned hands-on discovery center. The group also participated in the annual Christmas parade in downtown Longview and staged a flash mob during Christmas at the Courthouse. The students also prepared and helped present activities during Dalton Days and AlleyFest.

A new Youth Advisory Council has been selected for 2014-15. This group will help LongviewWOW present Frontiers of the Brain on Oct. 25. This hands-on learning event will feature The MEGA Brain® by Medical Inflatables, a Smart Fair with presentations by local junior high and high school students and activities and displays by other local organizations exploring brain function, health, disease and disability.

The LongviewWOW 2013-14 Youth Advisory Council members were: President Hannah Brown, Vice President Cheyann Alford, Vice President for Programs Emily McCarty, Vice President for Marketing Brianna Seidel, Secretary Elizabeth Boshers, Treasurer Caleb McGaugh and members Caroline Araiza, Elizabeth Bates, Lauren Bally, Tristan Berlin, Brittney Crane, Chance Crane, Megan Crawford, Austin Dickson, Lauren James, Max Kelt, Emily Gruppi, Leah Lancaster, Tucker McGaugh, Tucker McGaugh, Meaghan McNamara, Harrison Norris, Renee Petree, David Ritch, Hannah Ritch, Kayla Romero, Ainsley Ross, Lucas Steele and Jori Sutton.

The newly selected 2014-15 Youth Advisory Council members are: Callie Ball, Jonathan Caldwell, America Camacho, Farrah Chammas, Surya Donty, Madeline Duvall, Ambrosia Glover, Uwa Ihionkhan, Akiva Knighton, Michaela Lammers, Trevor O'Connor, David Ritch, Alyson Roper, Robyn Roper, Dantrell Rugley, Heidy Soto, Caroline Walls, Taylor Witt, Krisana Yuen, Emily McCarty, Hannah Brown, Elizabeth Boshers, Meagan McNamara and Aaron Brown.

For additional information, contact Karen Ritch at (903) 736-9702
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet