The Flare wins top honors at Texas Intercollegiate Press Association competition
Apr 16, 2014 | 927 views | 0 0 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print

The Flare, the student newspaper at Kilgore College, won top honors in the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association competition.


The awards were announced at the annual convention last weekend in San Antonio.


For the 24th time in 28 years, The Flare won sweepstakes for garnering the most points in its division.


The weekly newspaper won first place for overall excellence as well. Other first place awards were for headline writing, photo illustration, sports page design, news feature story, special section, news photo, opinion/editorial page design, information graphic and feature page design.


“I am very proud of our staff for these awards, but more importantly for their hard work and dedication in helping make The Flare as good a newspaper as possible,” said Gary Borders, adviser.


In all, the newspaper received 26 awards at TIPA. In addition, Sonia Garza, Tatum sophomore, was named Photojournalist of the Year in Division 2, marking the third year in a row the award has been won by a Kilgore College photography student.


The Ranger yearbook also won a number of awards, including honorable mention in overall excellence in a division competing with a number of Texas universities.


The Ranger won first place for adademic photo and sports feature photo, and 17 awards in all.


Borders and O. Rufus Lovett serve as co-advisers of the yearbook.


The Flare magazine also received an honorable mention for overall excellence and four awards in all.



Newspaper contest:


Anup Bhandari — First place, news photo

Sheniece Chappell — First place, information graphic

Cody Davis — Honorable mention, editorial cartoon

Kristopher Dobbins — First place, photo illustration; honorable mention, picture story

Gabe Espinosa — Third place, picture story

Sonia Garza — Honorable mention, ad design; Photojournalist of the Year

Kelly Gillit — Second place, illustration; third place, editorial cartoon

Cara Herbert — Third place, picture story

Sara Holmes — Third place, photo illustration

Ashton Johnson — First place, special section/edition; second place, page one design; first place, page one design

Lauren LaBouyteaux — Third place, picture story

Miles Marable III — Second place, sports feature story

Maegan Mitchell — First place, headline writing; second place, feature story

Ashley Morales — Second place, editorial; second place, opinion/editorial page design; second place, feature page design

Jordan Moss — First place, sports page design; second place, sports news story; first place, information graphic

Brittani Pfau — First place, news feature story; first place, special section/edition; honorable mention, in-depth reporting; second place, page one design; third place, single subject design

Keira Phipps — Second place, information graphic

Jonathan Ruesch — First place, opinion/editorial page design

Randi Vinson-Davis — Third place, picture story; honorable mention, picture story

The Flare — Overall Excellence award


Yearbook contest:


Anup Bhandari — Second place, photo story

Shelbi Crews — First place, academic photo; second place, people spread

Kristopher Dobbins — First Place, sports feature photo; second place, feature/student life

Gabriel Espinosa — Second place, feature/student life

Sonia Garza — Second place, photo story; honorable mention, sports

Cara Herbert — Honorable mention, sports

Kim Hill — honorable mention, sports action photo

Alison Hughes — Second place, photo story; honorable mention, sports; third place, end sheets; third place, cover design

Brittany Pfau — Second place, information graphic

April Procell — Second place, feature/student life

Jonathan Reusch — Second place, photo story

Randi Vinson-Davis — Second place, feature/student life; third place, feature photo

The Ranger Yearbook — Honorable mention, overall excellence


Magazine contest:


Lauren LaBoyteaux — Second place, feature photo

Ashton Johnson — Honorable mention, news feature story

Randi Vinson-Davis — Second place, picture story

The Flare Magazine — Honorable mention, overall excellence



Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet