Voters go to the polls Tuesday
Mar 03, 2014 | 1590 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Voters go to the polls for the Republican and Democratic primary elections Tuesday, and several Upshur County offices are contested on the GOP ballot.

Voting hours are 7 a.m.-7 p.m. As of 7 p.m. Thursday, the next to last day for early voting (which ended Friday night), some 1,399 votes had been cast in the GOP races while 68 had been cast in the Democratic primary here, said Deputy County Clerk Greg Dodson.

Races ranging from the county precinct level to statewide offices and Congress are up for election, although all candidates for county office are on the GOP ballot.

Voters can only participate in no more than one of the two primaries. A voter who votes in one party's primary cannot vote in any runoff election for the other party, scheduled in April. And anyone who votes in either primary cannot participate in the Upshur County Libertarian Party's convention in March, when that party is expected to nominate Peggy LaGrone for County Clerk.

Voters must also show a photographic ID to cast a ballot Tuesday.

At the county level, County Judge Dean Fowler is seeking reelection to a fourth term against attorney Ronnica Ridgeway. Karen Bunn and Kathryn Wilson are vying for the District Clerk post being vacated by retiring incumbent Carolyn Parrott, while Brandy Vick and Todd Quinn are candidates for the County Treasurer post being vacated by retiring incumbent Myra Harris.

Pct. 2 County Commissioner Cole Hefner, seeking reelecton to a second term, faces longtime educator and sheriff's deputy Don Gross in a rematch of their 2010 race, which Hefner won by 12 votes.

Pct. 4 County Commissioner Mike Spencer, also seeking reelection to a second term, faces veteran county employee Karmen Kelley.

In the only county race with more than two candidates, Cheryl Taylor, Kimberly Clift-Stone and Wyone Manes are running for Pct. 1 Justice of the Peace to replace retiring incumbent Laura Lee Norred.

Also contested is the Pct. 4 Justice of the Peace race, where Rebecca (Becky) Skinner opposes Sherry Jewkes-Larsen to replace retiring incumbent W.V. Ray.

An Upshur Countian, David Watts Jr., is running in the Republican primary for state land commissioner against George P. Bush, a relative of both President Bushes.

Unopposed for reelection in the GOP primary are District Attorney Billy Byrd, Pct. 2 Justice of the Peace Lyle Potter, and Pct. 3 JP Rhonda Welch.

Polling places in Upshur County for both primaries are listed below. Anyone who is unsure where they should vote may call the County Clerk's Office at 843-4015 or Tax Assessor-Collector's Office at 843-3085.:

Polling places are Upshur County Rock Building in Gilmer, East Mountain Community Center, Glenwood Water Department, New Diana ISD Auditorium, Assembly of God in Gilmer, Walnut Creek Baptist Church, Ore City Community Center, Union Ridge Community Center, Big Sandy School, Pritchett Community Center, Gladewater Former Students Building, Enon Community Center, Union Hill School ag building, Simpsonville Volunteer Fire Dept., Rosewood Baptist Church and the Upshur County Library.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet