ETBU Alumnus Wins ETBU Championship
Nov 19, 2013 | 1105 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print

ETBU Alumnus Wins ETBU Championship


MARSHALL, Texas (11/19/13) - The East Texas Baptist University Debate Team hosted the second annual ETBU Tiger Invitational Debate Tournament on the Marshall campus November 15 and 16. While the host school is ineligible to win team sweepstakes awards, ETBU debaters are eligible to win individual championships and ETBU alumnus LaDarius Carter did just that.

Carter posted a 5-2 preliminary record and then marched through the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds before facing and defeating Sarah Spiker Rainey, assistant coach of the Wiley College debate team to seal the championship of the tournament’s professional division. 

Carter was not the only ETBU debater with success however. Dakota Hiltzman, sophomore from Gilmer, compiled a 4-3 preliminary record in the varsity division and advanced through to the round of the top 16. He eventually lost and was eliminated from competition in the quarterfinal round.

The majority of the ETBU squad spent the weekend hosting the competitors and running the operational aspects of the event. Thirteen different universities from five different states competed at the tournament. A total of 100 competitors competed in the three divisions of the International Public Debate Association (IPDA) sanctioned event.

“This was a large undertaking” said Dr. Cole Franklin, coach of the ETBU debate squad and tournament director. “Last year we had just over 50 competitors and this year we had 100. It takes a lot of preparation, hard work, and dedication to run a successful tournament. I’m very proud of the team. They ran a great event and our guests and competitors took note. They were very complimentary of our tournament coordination and our campus.”

In the team sweepstakes competition, LSU Shreveport won first place. Union University won second place and Louisiana College finished third. College of the Mainland won the Top Community College award and LSUS was recognized as the team with the highest winning percentage at the event. LSUS competitors won 68.4 percent of their seven preliminary rounds. Union University had the second-highest winning percentage with just over 60 percent.

The individual division championships were won by Carter from ETBU in the professional division, Blake Hodges of Union University in the varsity division and Dalton Adger of Louisiana College in the novice division.

“The tournament is scheduled to be an annual event,” Dr. Franklin said. “This gives us an opportunity to open our campus to a large number of individuals and host an academic competition increasing the exposure of ETBU in the region. We’re excited to host again next year.”

The ETBU Debate Team will next compete at the Mississippi College Deep South Debate Tournament December 6-7. It will be the team’s final competition of the 2013 year. The first tournament of the spring semester will be at Bossier Parish Community College in February.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet