Nov 12, 2013 | 1150 views | 0 0 comments | 15 15 recommendations | email to a friend | print




(Longview) – Today Representative David Simpson (R-Longview) officially announced his campaign for re-election to the Texas House, District 7, with the support of a long list of prominent Republican party leaders and area elected officials.


"Representing the people of District 7 is a great privilege and responsibility," said Simpson Tuesday. "If the people choose to elect me again, I pledge to continue working diligently to defend the life and liberty of our citizens, just as I have through the first two terms of office."


In endorsing Simpson, Longview Mayor Pro Tem Gary Smith said, "The reason I will support David Simpson for Representative for District 7 is because of his dedication for Texas and Liberty. I believe David is approachable by all of his constituents inside and outside of the district in which he represents for questions pertaining to state and local issues."


State Republican Executive Committeewoman for northeast Texas, including House District 7, Sue Evenwel said of Simpson: "David Simpson has played a significant role in promoting true conservative values in Austin. He is a patriot and a servant leader who passionately advocates constitutional principles for all the people of Texas. Integrity and honesty are marks of his character and leadership."


Ore City Mayor Glenn Breazeale also said of Simpson, "David has the kind of values that our government needs. He's doing a good job for us and will continue to do a good job."


Simpson has been named a "Taxpayer Champion" by Texans for Fiscal Responsibility and named to Young Conservatives of Texas' "Honor Roll." He has also received an A+ rating from the National Rifle Association, the Texas State Rifle Association, and Texas Right to Life. Simpson was rated 93 by Texas Eagle Forum and received the Gold Star Award from Concerned Women for America for a 100% rating this past session.


This past session, Simpson passed all four of his local bills as well as two statewide measures. HB 78 repealed an inequitable and regressive tax on gold and silver coin purchases of less than $1000. HB 1382 increased freedom at farmers markets to sample food and perform cooking demonstration and clarified more appropriate regulations for this venue. HB 79/SB 139 designated a portion of Highway 80 as Sgt. Travis E. Watkins Memorial Highway. HB 3161 restored the original structure for the Upshur County Juvenile Court. HCR 23 designated Gregg County as the Balloon Race Capital of Texas. HB 3070 designated a portion of US Highway 80 as a historic highway.


Simpson was originally elected in 2010 running on a platform of upholding his oath to the Constitution and defending our East Texas conservative values. House District 7 is comprised of Gregg and Upshur Counties.



East Texas Republican leaders endorsing Simpson include:


State Republican Executive Committeewoman Sue Evenwel

State Republican Executive Committeeman Stephen Lee



Gregg County leaders endorsing Simpson include:


Sheriff Maxey Cerliano

County Commissioner Ronnie McKinney

County Commissioner Daryl Primo

County Commissioner Gary Boyd

County Commissioner John Mathis

County Clerk Connie Wade

Clarksville City Alderwoman Carolyn Linder

Easton Mayor Pro Tem Walter Derrick

Elderville-Lakeport Fire Chief Pat Owens

Gladewater Mayor Harold Wells

Kilgore Mayor Ronnie Spradlin

Kilgore City Councilwoman Sherry Bustin

Kilgore City Councilman Harvey McClendon

Kilgore City Councilman Neil Barr

Kilgore City Councilman Bobby Hale

Longview City Councilman and Mayor Pro Tem Gary Smith

Longview City Councilman John Sims

Longview City Councilman Richard Manley

Longview City Councilman Sidney Allen

Warren City Mayor Ricky Wallace

White Oak Mayor Richard May

GOP Chairman Keith Rothra

GOP Secretary Marty Rhymes

GOP Precinct 1 Chair Glyn Crane

GOP Precinct 3 Chair Don Radcliffe

GOP Precinct 4 Chair Tim Vaughn

GOP Precinct 6 Chair Brian Bowden

GOP Precinct 7 Chair Gail Gilbert

GOP Precinct 8 Chair C. Kyle Smith

GOP Precinct 10 Chair Kevin Massey

GOP Precinct 11 Chair Virgil Bohanan

GOP Precinct 12 Chair Kelly Rolland

GOP Precinct 13 Chair Kirk Rotramel

GOP Precinct 14 Chair Sandra Odom

GOP Precinct 16 Chair Thomas Wood

GOP Precinct 19 Chair Andy Farrell

GOP Precinct 20 Chair Bill Daniel

GOP Precinct 21 Chair Mickie Hand

Upshur County leaders endorsing Simpson include:


Sheriff Anthony Betterton

County Commissioner Paula Gentry

County Commissioner Cole Hefner

County Commissioner Frank Berka

Big Sandy City Councilman Lupe Gonzalez

Clarksville City Councilwoman Carolyn Linder

Ore City Mayor Glenn Breazeale

Union Grove Mayor Randy Lee Simcox

GOP Precinct 1 Chair Lanette Crittenden

GOP Precinct 3 Chair Madaline Barber

GOP Precinct 4 Chair Deborah Hodge

GOP Precinct 5 Chair Blanton Dawson

GOP Precinct 6 Chair Jackie Oliver

GOP Precinct 8 Chair Charlie Pelezo

GOP Precinct 9 Chair Bill Stenger

GOP Precinct 10 Chair Laurie Fisher

GOP Precinct 12 Chair Mickey Denton

GOP Precinct 14 Chair Buck Newsome

GOP Precinct 15 Chair Kandice LaGrone

GOP Precinct 16 Chair John Ussery

GOP Precinct 17 Chair Joe Dodd

GOP Precinct 18 Chair Leslie Cathcart



Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet