Gregg County Historical Foundation presents the 14th Annual Landmarks of Longview, An Architectural Tour
Sep 19, 2013 | 667 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Gregg County Historical Foundation presents the 14th Annual

Landmarks of Longview, An Architectural Tour

September 21st & 22nd from 1pm – 5pm





Longview, Tx (September 6, 2013) The Gregg County Historical Museum is proud to present the 14th Annual Landmarks of Longview Architectural Tour. In honor of long time contributors of Longview and Gregg County and in recognition of their spirit of generosity, this year’s tour is being held in honor of Jack & Barbara Phillips.



This year’s Landmark of Longview tour will feature 4 beautiful locations in the Forest Hills Subdivision. Located off of Judson Road across from the Chaparral Plaza Shopping Center, the Forest Hills Subdivision was established in 1937 by Dr. V. R. Hurst. It is told that Dr. Hurst built the first home on what was once the Yates farm. The 3 story home sits atop the hill that faces what is now Judson Road. The next home was contracted by Dr. W. D. Northcutt and has remained, through the years, one of the focal points of the neighborhood. As more houses were constructed over time, Forest Hills became the elegant neighborhood that it is today. Each home is unique, reflecting styles ranging from traditional to contemporary. Many of them have been remodeled and updated to bring modern day comforts to the owners, but the original architectural elements remain.



Mr. & Mrs. Eric Ruff, 200 Sunset Drive

Constructed in 1938, this home belonging to Eric and Lori Ruff is built in a traditional Federalist style. The home is complimented by classic colonial blue gray paint while red flowering plants accent the front entry. Eric and Lori have made many well planned changes to the home since they have owned it while beautifully maintaining its original style and grace. The furnishings and other items inside, many of which have been collected during family trips to various places around the world, reflect the comfortable yet stylish lifestyle of the Ruff family.



Mr. & Mrs. Jimmy Salmon, 1111 Yates

At the end of a beautiful brick walkway is the Greek Revival style home of Jimmy and Jo Salmon. Built in 1942, this home has all of the current day comforts while maintaining the integrity of the original home. Original flooring, windows, light fixtures and tile remain beautifully intact in this home, and photographs by Jimmy Salmon along with an extensive collection of art and other family pieces make this home cozy and elegant. Jimmy and his wife, Jo, enjoy sharing the task of keeping their azaleas and other greenery pruned to perfection to showcase this lovely home.



Dr. & Mrs. Don Wells, 1115 Yates Drive

Nestled among trees and cooling foliage stands this beautiful two story Georgian style home belonging to Don and Lynn Wells. This traditional red brick with black shutters and white trim creates an elegant and timeless retreat which offers a warm welcoming feel as you enter the home. The exquisite grounds are enticing from every angle including the sparkling well landscaped pool in the back to the park like atmosphere of the lot next door which Don and Lynn own and maintain as an extension of their property for entertaining, neighborhood functions and other activities.



Mr. & Mrs. Casey Goolsby, 1205 Yates Drive

The expansive mid century home belonging to the Casey and Jennifer Goolsby sits on a shaded corner lot blending beautifully with the surrounding landscaped property. Built in 1952, this home has undergone extensive remodeling since the Goolsby's have owned it. Several additions have been made including a new master bedroom, two cozy fireplaces and a complete renovation of the kitchen. Every space has been updated to add a fresh and contemporary feel to this traditional home.



Advance tickets are $20 each and are available from the Gregg County Historical Museum, Barron’s, Louis Morgan #4, Pen and Company, C.S. Cutting, Cace’s Seafood and Texas Bank and Trust (downtown). Tickets are also available at each home during tour hours at a price of $25. Tickets are limited and will be sold on a first come, first served basis. All tickets are valid for both days.



For more information contact the Gregg County Historical Museum, 214 North Fredonia Street, visit the website, www.gregghistorical.org, Like us on Facebook/GreggCountyHistoricalMuseum or call 903.753.5840. Shuttles will be available for transportation to and from the homes. Proceeds benefit the Gregg County Historical Museum. A special thanks to the City of Longview’s Cultural Activities Advisory Commission for making the tour of homes possible.
Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet