County gears up for Nov. 5 election
Aug 22, 2013 | 1983 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Upshur County Commissioners Court on Friday approved election judges and alternate judges for the state’s Nov. 5 election on proposed amendments to the Texas Constitution.

The judges were proposed by Republican Party County Chairman Cynthia Ridgeway, while the alternates were proposed by county Democratic Party Chairman Dan Miles, Jr.

The list, according to information from Mrs. Ridgeway and Miles, includes:

• Pct. 1 (Southeast Gilmer)—Lanette Crittenden, judge; Claudette Bunn and Marie Williams, alternates

• Pct. 2 (East Mountain)—Jesse Loffer, judge; Tom Mitchell, alternate

Pct. 3 (Glenwood)—Madaline Barber, judge; Olive Bates, alternate

Pct. 4 (South Diana)—Deborah Hodge, judge; Amy Hamilton and Margaret J. Crowe, alternates

Pct. 5 (Northeast Gilmer)—Blanton Dawson, judge; Sherri Warren and Chearl Finch, alternates who were also named alternates for Pct. 18

Pct. 6 (North Diana)—Jackie Oliver, judge; Vivian Smith and Veronica Miles, alternates

Pct. 7 (Ore City)—Sherrean Bellows, judge; Jurel White and Yvonne Davis, alternates

Pct. 8 (Ewell)—Charlie Pelezo, judge; Helen Johnson and Jacqueline Shepherd, alternates

Pct. 9 (Big Sandy)—Pam McKenzie, judge; Amanda Gibson, Linda Odom, Sherri Case, alternates

Pct. 10 (Pritchett)—Clifford Barnes, judge; Ann Glenn, Jenette Olson, Dave Newman, alternates

Pct. 11 (Rocky- Gladewater)—Linda Ambrose, judge; Delbert Burlison, Donna Rosenblum, alternates who were additionally named alternates for Pct. 16

Pct. 12 (Northwest Gilmer)—Mickey Denton, judge; Roy Helpenstill and Enola Harguess, alternates who were also named alternates for Pct. 17

Pct. 13 (Union Hill)—Mary Johnson, judge; Ella Johnson, alternate

Pct. 14—(Simpsonville)—Ronnica Ridgeway, judge; Ruthann Bowl, alternate

Pct. 15—(Rosewood)—Kandice LaGrone, judge; Joyce Moon, alternate

Pct. 16—John Ussery, judge

Pct. 17—Virginia Pena, judge

Pct. 18—Leslie Cathcart, judge

Areas were not listed for precincts 16-18, nor any judges/alternates appointed for precincts 19-21. Mrs. Ridgeway said Monday she assumed 19, 20 and 21 would be consolidated with other boxes and noted that one of those precincts has only four residents, none of whom are registered to vote.

She also said the location for voting boxes and how they might be consolidated has not yet been determined.

Mrs. Ridgeway was named judge for the central counting station and her daughter Ronnica Ridgeway was named judge for the early voting ballot board.

In other business Friday, the court approved paying Sydaptic $18,300 for repairing an electronic lock on a door in the county jail.

The court also heard County Judge Dean Fowler report on renovation of the courthouse to meet requirements of the Americans With Disabilities act.

He noted that, among other measures, the carpet has been removed, and some pews shortened, in the county courtroom where the commissioners meet.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet