UT Tyler 2013 LSAMP Summer Academy Students Present Research
Aug 12, 2013 | 1590 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The 2013 UT System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Summer Research Academy students from The University of Texas at Tyler and Tyler Junior College concluded their fellowship by presenting research in an on-campus poster competition at the UT Tyler Ornelas Activity Center.

All student fellows will present their posters at the UT System LSAMP Student Research Conference at UT Permian Basin in September.

UT Tyler chemistry undergraduate Randy Sronce of Belton placed first among UT Tyler presenters with his research poster titled, “Synthesis and Application of Silver Nanoclusters.” Dr. Tanya Shtoyko, UT Tyler associate professor, served as his faculty mentor. Sronce will represent the university at the conference by giving an oral presentation of his research.

Other UT Tyler student fellows are listed by hometown with their research field, faculty mentor and research poster title.

ATHENS – Jennifer Parks, biology, Dr. Joshua Banta, “Understanding the Effects of Gene Interactions on Flowering Time.”

AVINGER – Larrimy Brown, biology, Dr. John Placyk, “Molecular Phylogenetics of North American Ribbonsnakes.”

DIANA – Edith Plants-Paris, biology, Placyk, “Development of a Molecular Identification Key for the Freshwater Mussels of East Texas.”

LONGVIEW – Andrea Ortiz, biology, Dr. Blake Bextine, “Quantifying Liberabacter Levels in Potatoes.”

HOUSTON – Ricardo Estupinian, biology, Bextine; “Oral Delivery of dsRNA to Potato Psyllid (Bactericera cockerelli) via Sachet.”

TJC student fellows who participated also arelisted by hometown with their research field, faculty mentor and research poster title.

PALESTINE – Jesus Espinoza, biology, Dr. Ali Azghani, “Pseudomonas aeruginosa.”

TYLER – David Morman, computer science, TJC faculty member David Alger, “True_D – Dynamic, Real-Time, 3D Robotic Mapping” and Lee Parker, biology, Azghani, “Pathogensis of Pseudomonas Aeruginosa Mutants Lacking Flagella.”

WHITEHOUSE – Caroline Dougherty, computer science, Alger, “True_D – 3D Map Creation in Real Time.”

Dougherty was selected as the top-ranked TJC student fellow presenter.

Dr. Neil Gray, UT Tyler chair and professor of chemistry, Dr. Neil Ford, UT Tyler professor of biology; and Dr. Ginny Soong, UT Tyler associate professor of computer science, served as poster competitionjudges.

Now in its 21st year, the UT LSAMP program is supported by funding from the National Science Foundation and provides undergraduate research experiences in an effort to encourage students from underrepresented populations to pursue graduate level studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics programs. This year, TJC is a community college partner in the UT LSAMP program.

Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater, Lecil and Barbara Chandler endowed professor of computer science at UT Tyler, serves as the UT Tyler LSAMP program director. Gray and Ford also contribute in supporting roles on the advisory committee for the program.

Gigi Delk, TJC computer science faculty member and UT Tyler adjunct senior lecturer, serves as the TJC LSAMP campus director.

All nine UT System academic institutions, as well as community college partners, are involved in the LSAMP program.

Nearly 100 UT Tyler students have participated under the guidance of more than a dozen faculty mentors in biology, chemistry, mathematics, computer science, electrical engineering and mechanical engineering.

For more information about the UT Tyler LSAMP Summer Research Academy, contact Rainwater, 903.566.7235 or srainwater@uttyler.edu.

One of the 15 campuses of the UT System, UT Tyler offers excellence in teaching, research, artistic performance and community service. More than 80 undergraduate and graduate degree programs are available at UT Tyler, which has an enrollment of almost 7,000 high-ability students at its campuses in Tyler, Longview and Palestine.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet