Gilmer FFA has another banner year
Jun 09, 2013 | 5150 views | 0 0 comments | 123 123 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Mirror Photo / Mary Laschinger Kirby<br>
RECEIVING AWARDS at the recent Gilmer High School FFA Banquet were, front row from left, Colby Gipson, Kailon Culberson, Madeline Oller, Haygan Thomas, Taylor Mobley, Kayla Smith, Ashlynn Hill, Reagon Isonhood, Aston Culberson, Clarissa Lopez and Melina Prince. Second row, Adolfo Lopez, Clay Gunby, Dakota Gunby, Ray Culberson, Kristen Culberson, Vicki Massey, Dennis Massey and Danielle Bensley. Third row, Tabitha Stinson, Catherine Williams and Garrett Parish. Fourth row, Tally McBride, Tim Sorrells, Justin Vestal, Juan Lopez, Shelby Froitzheim, Louren Thompson, Maddison Evans, Matthew Caldwell and Wesley Vickers. Back row, Grace Farrow, Courtney Gipson, Avery Massey, Brady English, Hank Nelson, John King, Jackson McQueen, Blake Rice, Mitch Lange, Jake Traylor, Adam Walker, Corbin Johnson, Logan Gilbreath, Benny Walker and Riley Coleman.
view image
The Gilmer FFA announced the new officers for 2013-2014 and presented awards to members of the chapter for their outstanding accomplishments during a program held at the First Baptist Church’s Christian Life Center Thursday, May 23.

At the climax of the program, Maddison Evans was given the Oustanding Officer Award for 2012-2013 and Jackson McQueen received the DeKalb Award for the senior student with a superior record of scholarship, leadership and a supervised project program in agriculture.

Lead instructor Sue Witt opened the activities with a summary of the year’s activities.

During the fall, 65 students participated in the East Texas Yamboree and the Harvest Festival in Longview the following week, earning over $15,000 in prizes and money.

Mrs. Witt underscored the accomplishments of the outstanding Agricultural Mechanics Show Team, with Adam Walker earning the Star Ag Mechanics Award. She and Russell Thomas shared the honors in announcing the outstanding students.

The FFA program actually gets its start these days at Bruce Junior Highm where Paulette Aguilar taught 103 eighth graders and gave them a chance to decide if they want to continue with the program in high school.

Winning the fourth annual Gilmer FFA Discovery Award was Dakota Gunby.

In the first year in high school, the new ag science students are eligible for Star Greenhand Awards. This year’s Star Greenhand in Production went to Matthew Caldwell. Star Greenhand in Placement Award went to Riley Coleman, while the Star Greenhand in Agriscience went to Colby Gipson.

Second-year agricultural science students are eligible for Star Chapter Farmer Awards. The Star Chapter Production Award went to Taylor Montgomery, and the Star Chapter Agriscience Award to Maddison Evans.

This year, 15 students made application for the Lone Star Farmer degree. The requirements include keeping record books for three years.

The Star Lone Star Agriscience Award went to Hank Nelson, while the Star Lone Star Agribusiness Award went to Haygan Thomas.

The Star Lone Star Production Award was earned by Garrett Parish.

Four students were cited this year to receive the Gilmer FFA Top Hand Award. The Top Hand Award went to Juan Lopez, Lauren Thompson, Kayla Smith and Hank Nelson.

The Go Get ‘Em Award, a local Gilmer award, was created several years ago for the student who showed an undying effort at all times, including volunteering for the dirty jobs and seeking something else they can contribute. This year, the award was doubled with Haygan Thomas getting the Go Get ‘Em Girl Award and Garrett Parish the Go Get ‘Em Boy Award.

Instructor Laura Von Krosigk announced the Alumni Awards. The Neal Memorial Scholarship went to Kayla Smith.

The Gilmer FFA Alumni Scholarship is dedicated this year to two long-time supporters of the Gilmer FFA Chapter who died this year, Nadine and Henry McQueen. The scholarship was awarded to their grandson, Jackson McQueen.

For 15 years, the Hailey Family has awarded a scholarship in memory of Dennis Hailey, an active alumni member and a supporter of all members of the Gilmer FFA organization. The Dennis Hailey Memorial Scholarship went to Kailon Culberson.

The alumni award to the Gilmer FFA All Around Member went to Haygan Thomas.

Named Honorary Chapter Farmers were adult supporters Jay Brooks, Ray Culberson, Kristen Culberson, Vickie Massey and Dennis Massey.

Chapter Officer Awards went to the officers for 2012-2013: Jackson McQueen, president; Brady English, vice president; Haygan Thomas, second vice president; Garrett Parish, secretary; Catherine Williams, treasurer; Blake Rice, reporter; Kayla Smith, sentinel; Avery Massey, student advisor; Maddison Evans, Parlianmentarian; Madelien Oller, Historian; Courthne Gipson, Chaplain; Taylor Montgomery, Photographer; and Grace Farrow, Communications.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet