Academic scholarships awarded
Jun 02, 2013 | 5378 views | 0 0 comments | 31 31 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The top three students in the Gilmer High School Class of 2013 opened the Academic Awards program Tuesday with valedictorian Danielle Plunk welcoming the guests, second-ranked Chelsea Miears giving opening remarks, and Skylar Hollis, the top-ranked boy, leading the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The program continued with the awarding of scholarships with some students collecting several.

The first award went to Brenna Waters, who received the Texas A&M-Texarkana Arnold Freshman Scholarship.

The Youngkin Family Corps of Cadets Scholarship went to Dillon Sampson.

The Alpha Nu Epsilon Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi’s Scholarship went to Kaitlin Johnston.

She also received the Delta Waterfowl Scholarship.

The Trendsetter Construction Inc. Scholarship went to Hannah Wood.

Chelsey Alexander received the Gilmer High School Class of 1965’s Henry McClelland Scholarship, one of the Etex Telephone Scholarships, one of the Gilmer Lions Club Scholarships, the East Texas Yamboree Lady-in-Waiting scholarship, one of the Duncan Scholarships and the Matt Camp Memorial Scholarship.

In addition, Miss Alexander and Miss Shelby Froitzheim each received a scholarship from Terry and Donna Edwards, the Student Athletic Trainer Caring Hearts Scholarship.

Adam Walker received a $2,000 scholarship from Upshur Rural Electric Cooperative, while $800 scholarships went to Kailon Culberson, Juan Lopez, Jackson McQueen, Chelsea Miears, Jared Plant, Zaneta Ray and Anthony Villafuerte.

The Gilmer National Bank Scholarship went to Slade Morris.

Yamboree Board of Directors’ Scholarships went to Kailon Culberson and Danielle Plunk.

Others receiving the Yamboree Lady-in-Waiting Scholarships were Emily Chevalier, Jasmin Jones, Kayla Smith and Michelle Yochum. Miss Smith also received the Twentieth Century Club Scholarship.

The Gilmer Rotary Club Scholarship went to Slade Morris and to Anthony Villafuerte.

Gilmer Lions Club Scholarships went to Jackson McQueen, Jack Moss, and Connor Hewitt, in addition to Miss Alexander.

Receiving scholarships from the Gilmer Kiwanis Club were Kailon Culberson, Michelle Yochum, Jackson McQueen and Travis Carter.

Miss Culberson also received the Upshur County Retired School Employees Scholarship and the Band Booster Legacy Scholarship.

Virginia Arnwine Memorial Scholarships from the First Baptist Church’s Rachel Sunday School Class went to Hailey Yazell, Jared Plant, Jackson McQueen and Adam Walker.

The Xi Psi Chi Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi’s Scholarship went to Travis Carter.

The Alpha Kappa Alpha Effie H. Muckleroy Memorial Scholarship went to Anthony Villafuerte.

The Visions of Excellence Scholarship went to Zeneta Ray.

The James Clifton Honorary Band Booster Scholarship went to Danielle Plunk.

The John David Miller Memorial Band Booster Scholarship and the Austin Bank Scholarship went to Jared Plant. He also received the Grand Lodge Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Texas Scholarship and the Upshur County Texas A & M Mothers Club Scholarship.

The Bobby Arrington Memorial Band Booster Scholarship and the Bluebonnet Club Scholarship went to Haley Yazell.

The Lisa Morse Martin Memorial Scholarship went to Diundre Thomas.

The St. Theresa Catholic Church Ladies Guild Scholarship went to Grace Farrow.

The Gilmer High School Class of 1957 Memorial Scholarship went to Avery Massey.

Justin Gilmore received the Kilgore College Cook Foundation Scholarship and Kuente Brooks received the Kilgore College Superintendent’s Scholarship while Ashley Gibbons got the Kilgore College Principal’s Scholarship.

The Pi Nu Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi’s Scholarship went to Emily Chevalier.

The Bess M. Gillespie Scholarship Fund went to Hannah Wood.

Sanitation Solutions Scholarships went to Anna Potter and Michael Hendrix.

The Ila Burnett Carpenter Scholarship went to Jessie Jacoby.

Etex Telephone Scholarships went to Keiara Bowens, Charity Henderson, Connor Hewitt, Fantasia Johnson, Jasmin Jones, Juan Lopez, Avery Massey, Jackson McQueen, Slade Morris, Jared Plant, Danielle Plunk, Zaneta Ray, Brittney Tullar, Brenna Waters and Michelle Yochum.

The Duncan Scholarships of $1,000 each went to Dylan Bowman, Kailon Culberson, Grace Farrow, Jessie Jacoby, Kaitlin Johnston, Jackson McQueen, Chelsea Miears, Slade Morris and Anthony Villafuerte.

The Clayton B. and Frances M. Willis Memorial Scholarship went to Brandon Thompson.

The Gilmer High School Scholarship went to Kayla Smith and to Travis Carter.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet