National Honor Society inducts new members
May 23, 2013 | 2535 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Courtesy Photo<br>
GILMER HIGH SCHOOL students who were selected to become members of the National Honor Society are pictured during an induction ceremony at the GHS Auditorium on May 13.
view image
Twenty-five students from Gilmer High School were inducted as new members of the National Honor Society in a ceremony held at the Gilmer High School Auditorium on May 13.

Members were selected by the chapter’s Faculty Council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Students inducted were Megan Bartram, William Dodd, Maddison Evans, Jaden Green, William Harrison, Whitney Haschke, Misael Hernandez, Lauren Jones, Bayley LeGrand, Morgan Long, Clarissa Lopez, Joseph Maberry, Taylor Montgomery, Jonathan Morey, Jared Pederson, Ashton Ray, Sean Ray, Silvia Rocha, Brittany Sampson, Veronica Sanchez, Gentry Shelton, Nicholas Sullivan, Louren Thompson, Penelope Vestal and Tex Yazell.

Two additional inductees were not able to attend. They were Taylor Lofton and Jose Mendoza.

“We are very proud to recognize these outstanding members of our student body. National Honor Society members are chosen for, then expected to continue, their exemplary contributions to the school and community,” said Kylie Murry, chapter adviser.

The Gilmer High School Chapter has been active since 1964. Each year the chapter sponsors several service projects for the school and community, which in the last few years have included the Treats on the Square, Thanksgiving Canned Food Drive, Christmas Toy Drive and Teacher Appreciation Week, as well as a variety of individual service projects undertaken by the students.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in more than 15,000 schools and, since 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership. This national student recognition organization is proudly sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet