CinemaCon concludes with Big Screen Achievement Awards
Apr 21, 2013 | 2329 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
view slideshow (12 images)


     CinemaCon, the convention of theater owners, concluded the 2013 event Thursday night at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas with the Big Screen Achievement Awards, followed by a dinner at the Pool of the Gods behind the Coliseum.

     Twelve awards are given out annually at the end of the convention.  The Breakthrough Filmmaker of the Year was Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  Breakthrough Performer of the Year was Aubrey Plaza.  Morgan Freeman was awarded the Cinema Icon Award.

     The Male Star of Tomorrow was Armie Hammer, while Hailee Steinfeld was named Female Star of Tomorrow and Justin Lin was named Director of the Year.

     The Rising Star of 2013 was 16-year old British sensation Asa Butterfield, and Elizabeth Banks was awarded the Award of Excellence in Acting and Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson were named Comedy Duo of the Year.

     The highlight of the ceremony was the awarding of a Lifetime Achievement Award to Harrison Ford.  Chris Pine was named Male Star of the Year, and Melissa McCarthy was named Female Star of the Year.

     The event also included a Special Award Presentation by Fandango, the online theater movie ticket provider.  The Fandango Fan Choice Award For Favorite Movie of 2012, chosen by Fandango customers in an online poll was the Lionsgate Film The Hunger Games.

     The event was Emceed by Billy Bush of Access Hollywood, hosting for his third consecutive year.

     The 2014 CinemaCon convention is set for March 24-27 back at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet