2012-2013 Whatley Enhancement winners announced
Dec 16, 2012 | 1150 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print

2012-2013 Whatley Enhancement winners announced

The Northeast Texas Community College Foundation announced the winners of the 2012-2013 Whatley Employment Enhancement Awards this week. Seven out of the 20 proposals were chosen for funding. Winning employees and projects included:


Heidi Wooten, Joy Cooper & Alan Carter (Business/Accounting/Economics)- The Federal Reserve Experience - $750.00

Julie Lyon (Communities in Schools/ACE of Northeast Texas) - CAPPED@NTCC $1,125.00     

Winston McCowan (Biology) - HD TV for Laboratory Access $500.00         

Melody Henry (Upward Bound) - Upward Bound Robotics Academy $1,300.00      

Andrew Yox (Honors) - Wright Patman, Last Populist $800.00     

Mark Bouwens (Physics) - Optimization of Optics $3,025.00        

Jim Swann (Spanish & Honors) - The Caddo Collection $1,125.00 (Private Funds)       


The total amount awarded was $8,625. Funds for the Whatley Employment Enhancement Awards come from an endowment created by Mr. and Mrs. James Whatley. This allows NTCC employees to get financial support for innovative projects that might not otherwise be funded.

“Each year we are impressed by the quality and the number of proposals we receive. Our employees care about making NTCC a better place for students and this is a small way we can encourage their creativity and enthusiasm,” Dr. Jonathan McCullough, NTCC Vice President for Advancement, said. 

For more information about the Whatley Employment Enhancement Awards, contact Nita May, Director of Development, at 903-434-8113.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet