Texas Film Hall of Fame Honors Rio Bravo with "Star of Texas Award," Accepted by Angie Dickinson
Feb 24, 2012 | 954 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Legendary actress will help celebrate the classic Texas western at annual ceremony and concert



AUSTIN, Texas—The Austin Film Society is pleased to announce that iconic star Angie Dickinson will attend this year's Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards to accept the “Star of Texas Award” on behalf of Howard Hawks' 1959 western classic Rio Bravo. The film, which takes place in the Texas border town of Rio Bravo, is widely regarded as Hawks' greatest directorial work. The Star of Texas Award is given to an outstanding Texas film or television show. Past recipients include Friday Night Lights, Rushmore, Urban Cowboy, Giant and The Last Picture Show.

Alongside Dickinson, Rio Bravo stars John Wayne, Dean Martin and Ricky Nelson, telling the story of the town sheriff who enlists the help of some colorful characters to fight off a ruthless cattle baron. Playing a flirtatious gambler called "Feathers," the film was Dickinson's break out Hollywood role, helping her win a Golden Globe Award for New Star of the Year.

Angie Dickinson has had a long and distinctive career in both movies and television. With a career spanning over five decades, Dickinson has appeared in more than 50 films, including the original Ocean's Eleven, The Killers, Pretty Maids All in a Row, Big Bad Mama, Pay It Forward, The Chase, Point Blank, and Dressed to Kill. Becoming one of the most prominent actresses of the 1960s, Dickinson shared the screen with some of the decade's greatest leading men - Frank Sinatra, Gregory Peck, Rock Hudson, Michael Caine, Kirk Douglas, Marlon Brando, and Robert Redford, to name a few. International acclaim came with the success of the 1970s television series Police Woman. It was the first hour-long show starring a woman to be successful, earning her three Emmy nominations and a second Golden Globe Award.

Past “Star of Texas Award” honorees have included Dennis Hopper, Cybill Shepherd, Peter Fonda, Ann-Margret, and Lauren Bacall.

This year, the awards show will take place on March 8th--the evening before South by Southwest Film and Interactive conferences--at ACL Live at The Moody Theater downtown. Tickets for this highly anticipated event are selling quickly. While many tables and individual seat sections have sold out, there are still $250 and $75 tickets available.

Remaining table and single tickets are on sale at www.austinfilm.org.

About the Austin Film Society

Austin Film Society promotes the appreciation of film and supports creative media production by screening rarely seen films, giving grants and other support to emerging filmmakers, and providing access and education about film to youth and the public. Through Austin Studios, which AFS opened in 2000 through a lease from the City of Austin, AFS helps attract film development and production to Austin and Texas. Gala film premieres and the annual Texas Film Hall of Fame Awards raise funds as well as awareness of the impact of film on the economy and community. Austin Film Society is ranked among the top film centers in the country and recognized by the National Endowment for the Arts and Directors Guild of America. The Austin Film Society’s programs are funded and supported in part by the City of Austin through the Cultural Arts Division, by a grant from the Texas Commission on the Arts and an award from the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art. For more information on Austin Film Society, visit www.austinfilm.org

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet