Academic awards given
May 26, 2011 | 2812 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Michaela Noble, the Gilmer class valedictorian, received the Scholarship, Loyalty, and Achievement Award, an honor voted by the faculty and kept secret until the conclusion of the Academic Award Program.

Also announced at the end was the faculty’s selection for the Gilmer High School Citizenship Award, which went to Cody Davidson, an early graduate of the class.

Miss Noble opened the program with a welcome, Morgan Buller, the class salutatorian gave the invocation, and Taylor Jones led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Principal Greg Watson served as the Master of Ceremonies.

Recognized during the Academic Program Tuesday, May 17, the following students received the subject awards: In English Language Arts, English I went to Iesha Fluellen; English 1 Pre-AP to Hailey Langford; English 2 to Conner Hewitt; English 2 Pre-AP to Chelsea Miears; English 3 to Branson Parker; with English 3 AP; English 4 Lakyn Frost; and Taylor Jones got English 4 AP. Communications Applications went to Floyd Hollins, AVID 1 to Kylie Gezella, AVID 2 to Brenna Waters; AVID 3 to Deanna Cooper, and AVID 4 to Sam Haynes.

In Mathematics, Laci Roberts received Algebra 1 award, Carlos Mendoza Geometry, and Cassandra Galeano the Geometry Pre-AP. Algebra 2 went to Khadija Davis, Algebra 2 Pre-AP to Anthony Villafuerte, Math Models with Applications to Cara Buchanan, Pre-Calculus Alexis Digilormo, Skylar Hollis in Pre-Calculus Pre-AP, and Calculus AP to Michaela Noble.

Science awards went to Melony Holley in Integrated Physics and Chemistry, Kailon Culberson in Biology 1, Cara Davidson in Biology 1 Pre-AP, Joshua Hahn in Biology AP, and Stephen Whitaker in Aquatic Science. John Casey won the award for Chemistry 1, Hannah Hansen for Chemistry 1 Pre-AP, Angie Alexander for Principles of Technology, Samantha Jackson in Physics, and Quaid Bassin Anatomy and Physiology.

Social Studies Awards went to Sean Keegan in World Geography, Kailon Culberson in World Histry; Jackson McQueen in World History AP, Allison Tomme in the History of Religion, Mark Peel for U.S. History since Reconstruction, Amanda Tower in United States History AP, Hailee Smith-Mullins in United State Government, and Anthony Riddle in Economics.

Ciara Torchia got the award for Spanish 1, Alisa Pham for Spanish 2, Spanish 3 Pre-AP for Jordan Traylor, and Anacari Sanches for Spanish 4 AP.

In the Fine Arts Department, Hank Nelson got the award for Theatre Arts 1, Kole Lawhorn for Theatre Arts 2, Sara Nelson Theatre Arts 3, and Brooke Kern Theatre Arts 4.

Dakota Hiltzman got the Debate Award and Rebecca Garza the Yearbook Award.

Dakota Martinez received the Band 1 award, Danielle Plunk Band 2, Kristen Harroff Band 3, and Haley Oller Band 4.

Choir 1 went to Cady Hammock, Choir 2 to Hannah Wuester, Choir 3 to Samantha Payne, and Choir 4 to Shelbi herndon.

Garrett Parish got the Art 1 award, Hannah Wood Art 2, Morgan Bullock Art 3, and Briana Erb Art 4.

For Home Economic Education the Interior Design Award went to Haley Yazell, the Child Development

Award to Haley Crabtree, Hospitality Award to Blake Rice, and Nutrition and Welness to Katie Ray.

In Business Education, Jimmy Herring got the Animation Award, Word Processing Award to Cassandra Galeano, Desktop Publishing to Andrew Hagler, Computer Programming to Dillon Sampson, Tyler Foster the Advanced Computer Programming Award, and Hannah Hansen Digital Media-Web Technology.

The ROTC awards went to Roderick Harris for ROTC 1, Katarena Watcher ROTC 2, Amanda Nautel ROTC 3, Justin Gable ROTC 4, and Lacey Hughes ROTC Leadership.

In Ag Science, Rayann Moss received the award for Principles of Agriculture, Brittney Tullar in Floral Design, Brandie Hammonds Horticulture, Tally McBride for Landscape Design, Brady English in Professional Communications, Shelby Froitzheim in Equine Science, and John Case in Small Animal Management.

Ty Barr got the award for Advance Animal Science, Sunni Shuler in Wildlife, Adam Walker in Forestry, and Michelle Brunson in Intro to Agricultural Mechanics.

Jordan Gray took the Agricultural Facilities Award, Ty Tatum the Agricultural Mechanics 1 Award, and Andrew McAfee the Agricultural Mechanics 2 Award.

Perfect Attendance Awards went to Chase Spencer, one year; Sunni Shuler, one year; Brian Boyd, two years; and Alan Zamarron, four years.

Four year Honor Roll went to Alyssa Abney, Ty Barr, Quaid Bass, jasmin Bennett, Ethan boyd, Dalton Drown, Morgan Buller, Amber Burgett, Colin Coleman, Briana Erb, Holly Gardner, Jordan Goodrich, Joshua Hahn, Rachel Hall, Samuel Haynes, Shelbi Herndon, Lacy Hodges, Floyd Hollins, Floyd Hollins, Leticia Ibarra, Samantha Jackson, Taylor Jones, Andrew McAfee, Jordan McCraven, Benjamin Moses, Sara Nelson, Michaela Noble, Bethany Nolan, Rebecca Nolen, Adan Olivares, Haley Oller, Sammie Jo Oller, Sharron Pittman, Anthony Riddle, Cody Rosenbalm, Anacari Sanchez, Carlos Sanchez, Stormy Scott, Hailee Smith-Mullins, Chase Spencer, Kaitlyn Tackett, Seth Walker, John Walsh, Elizabeth Williams, Kersha Willis, Yequila Yamini, Jessica Yates, and Alan Zamarron.

UIL Scholar Awards went to Michaela Noble, Morgan Buller, Taylor Jones, Amber Burgett, Samantha Jackson, Shelbi Herndon, Colin Coleman, Sara Nelson, Dalton Brown, Benjamin Moses, Bethany Nolan, Carlos Sanchez, Lacy Hodges, Chase Spencer.

In Special Awards in the different disciplines, Eric Gray presented the Director’s Award to Alan Zamarron, the Louie Armstrong Award to Angie Alexander, the John Phillip Sousa Award and the 2011 ATSSB All-State Band Award to Alyssa Abney.

Jordan Ricks presented the Texas Music Educators 2011 All-State Women’s Choir Award.

Quaid Bass received a Letter of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The Gilmer ISD Foundation Essay Winners were Sean Keegan, nineth grade, Slade Morris and Danielle Plunk in tenth grade, Angie Alexander and Andrew Hagler for eleventh grade, and Hailee Smith-Mullins and Elizabeth Williams in twelth grade.

Honor graduates for 2011 are Michaela Noble, Morgan Buller, Taylor Jones, Amber Burgett, Samantha Jackson, Shelbi Herndon, Colin Coleman, Michael Boddie, Sara Nelson, Dalton Brown, Benjamin Moses, Bethan Nolan, Carlos Sanchez, Lacy Hodges, Rachel Hall and Chase Spencer.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet