Three students selected as this year’s Distinguished Musicians
May 13, 2013 | 2220 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print

view image


The Kilgore College Music Department is pleased to announce that three students have been chosen as this year’s Distinguished Musicians.


Students receiving the award are James Thomas of Gladewater, clarinet; Kimberli Sullivan of Hallsville, voice; and Brittany Crowe of Longview, piano.


Award recipients received a plaque and were honored by performing at the annual KC Music Honors Convocation in the Anne Dean Turk Fine Arts Center May 3.


Since 2010, the KC music faculty selects three or four students annually for this award. 


The students were selected based on all of the music majors’ performances at end-of-year recitals.


“To be named Distinguished Musician is quite an honor – one that can influence scholarship awards at the transfer institution,” said Jeanne Johnson, KC’s department chair of music and dance. 


“Our students are quite competitive in their desire to receive this award.  They want to win, but they also come out to support their friends who receive this honor at the honors convocation.”


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet