Chamber, Yamboree boards to elect directors
Dec 08, 2013 | 2241 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Balloting is underway for the respective Boards of Directors of the Gilmer Area Chamber of Commerce and East Texas Yamboree Association.

Five persons will be elected to the chamber board, while 10 will be chosen for the Yamboree board, all for 3-year terms starting in January. An election for each board is held annually.

Ballots have been mailed to chamber members and must be returned to the chamber office at 106 Buffalo by Dec. 16. Chamber members who did not receive a ballot should contact the chamber at 903- 843-2413, said Executive Director Joan Small.

The 16 nominees for the Yamboree board include seven incumbents: Janice Gage of Gage Insurance, Brandon Garmon of Union Grove Independent School District, Nancy Hill of Gilmer National Bank, Amy Patterson, Becky Skinner of Rumors Salon, Amelia Taylor Steele of the Upshur County Adult Probation Office, and Edward Williams of Williams Insurance.

Other Yamboree board nominees include Joel Murry of Texas Eastman, Travis Sosebee of Quantum Resources Management, Mary Carol Despain, Kyle Bowden of First National Bank of Gilmer, Kate Glaze Bowden of Texasta, Michael Blanks of Etex Telephone, Stacy Felipe of Tailored Solutions, and Charles Turner and Les Morris, both of Gilmer National Bank.

The 10 nominees for the chamber board include one incumbent, Randy Duke of Gilmer National Bank, and Leslie Pilcher of Bombshell Salon, Tory Frazier of QuickFish Custom Apparel & Promotions, Kyle Bowden, Kate Glaze Bowden, Carolyn Studdard of Etex Telephone, Todd Stansbury of Grubbs-Loyd Funeral Home, Beverly Grimes of the Gilmer Independent School District, Jimmy Bedard, who is retired, and Rob Walker of Upshur Rural Electric Cooperative.

Each board’s nominating committee chose the nominees for that respective board.

Retiring chamber board directors include Debbie Haddock, Rod Hite, Danny Kellar and Glenda Kitchens. Retiring Yamboree board directors include John Bullock, Ms. Haddock and John McWhorter.

Steve Stewart will be the new chamber president in 2014, while Duke will be the new Yamboree president.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet