Buckeyes represent well on 16-3A All-District teams
Jan 13, 2013 | 10483 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Courtesy Photo<br>
XAVIER FLUELLEN of the Gilmer Buckeyes has been named Defensive MVP of District 16-3A.
view image
Gilmer Buckeyes Senior Xavier Fluellen was named Defensive Most Valuable Player of District 16-3A and Sophomore Kris Boyd was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year as the district’s state finalist team was well represented on the All-District teams released this week.

Fluellen had 115 tackles, 10 pressures, five sacks, five forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and 14 tackles for losses from his nose guard position on the Black Flag Defense of the Buckeyes.

Boyd rushed for 1,276 yards on 161 carries and 19 touchdowns. He also caught 20 passes for 226 yards and two touchdowns.

Gilmer’s coaches were named the Coaching Staff of the Year. The Buckeyes went undefeated in winning District 16-3A, their 11th undefeated run to a district title in the last 12 years, and then they won five of six playoff games to finish with an overall record of 14-2.

The district’s coaches voted on the selections Wednesday night. Other schools in District 16-3A( aka the District of Doom) include Kilgore, Henderson, Bullard, Chapel Hill, Gladewater and Spring Hill.

Overall MVP of the district was A.J. Davis of the Kilgore Bulldogs. The middle linebacker had 154 tackles on the season. Offensive MVP was Patrick “Monsta” Brown of the Henderson Lions. He had 2,329 yards of total offense and accounted for 27 touchdowns from three different positions—wide receiver, quarterback and punt returner. Both Davis and Brown are seniors.

Sophomore Daylon Mack of Gladewater was named Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Buckeyes receiving honors included the following players:

First Team Offense

Jaidon Parrish, FB, H-back, Junior

Chase Tate, WR, Sophomore

Pat Finch, WR, Senior

Brady English, OL, Senior

Dillon Sampson,OL, Senior

Dylan Adkinson, OL, Junior

Tanner Barr, UTL, Junior

First Team Defense

Demarco Boyd, DL, Freshman

C.J. Williams, DL, Senior

Josh Walker, OLB, Junior

DeVondrick Dixon, DB, Junior

Trey Washington, DB, Senior

Dylan Bowman, PR, Senior

Pablin Olivares, Special Teams, Junior

Ardarius Johnson, Special Teams, Junior

Second Team Offense

Jamel Jackson, RB, Sophomore

Slade Morris, WR, Senior

DeVondrick Dixon, WR, Junior

Second Team Defense

Dakota Fluellen, DL, Senior

Dylan Bowman, DB, Senior

Honorable Mention


Mitch Lange, OL, Junior

Jackson McQueen, OL, Senior

Honorable Mention


De Thomas, CB, Senior

Brandon Barnes, LB, Senior

John McPherson, LB, Sophomore

Anthony Villafuerte, DT, Senior

Adam Witcher, LB, Senior

Harrison Foster, DT, Junior

Garrett Parish, DT, Junior

Justus Cheatham, DB, Senior

Daniel Smith, OLB, Senior
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet