Area students place at 21st annual David Karp Piano Festival
Apr 10, 2013 | 1095 views | 0 0 comments | 2 2 recommendations | email to a friend | print

view slideshow (4 images)

More than 100 Texas students with ages ranging from elementary to high school participated in the 21st annual Dr. David Karp Piano Festival competition April 7.


Karp, music professor at Southern Methodist University, adjudicated the event at Kilgore College’s Van Cliburn Auditorium.


Contestants performed piano solos written by Karp in preliminary judging.  Karp then selected outstanding students from each division who performed in a “Winner’s Recital” and awarded trophies to the top three students from each of four divisions.


Sandra Siler, KC piano instructor, said she began the festival in 1993 to honor Karp as her teacher and mentor.  The festival has been held each spring at KC since 1993.


A nationally known pianist, composer and educator, Karp holds degrees from the Manhattan School of Music and the University of Colorado. He has also completed graduate work at Teachers College--Columbia University. Karp is currently a professor of music at SMU’s Meadows School of the Arts and director of the National Piano Teachers’ Institute.


The KC Music Department offers several piano scholarships each year. 


For more information, contact Siler at 903-983-8120.




Winners of the competition follow, listed by division:


Division I

First place – Carter Boone, Kilgore

Second place – Jake Glenn, Henderson

Third place – Sophy Claire Daily, Longview


Division II

First place – Gregory Thompson, Tyler

Second place – Samantha Hammands, Tyler

Third place – Atticus Brumley, Longview


Division III

First place – Jana Rowe, Mount Pleasant

Second place – Skyler Brumit, Troup


Division IV (duets)

First place – Connor Pool and Allyson Sharp, Henderson

Second place – Reagan Mills and Ethan Rhodes, Tyler

Third place – Gregory Thompson and Nathaniel Cox, Tyler




Front row (L-R): Sophy Claire Daily (Longview)

Back row (L-R): Carter Boone (Kilgore) and Jake Glenn (Henderson)



Front row (L-R): Samantha Hammands, Tyler

Back row (L-R): Atticus Brumley
(Longview) and Gregory Thompson (Tyler)



Front row (L-R): Jana Rowe (Mount Pleasant) and Skyler Brumit (Troup)



Front row (L-R): Reagan Mills (Tyler) and Gregory Thompson (Tyler)

Back row (L-R): Ethan Rhodes (Tyler), Connor Pool (Henderson), Nathaniel Cox (Tyler) and Allyson Sharp (Henderson)


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet