“Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Player of the Week” Program Launches Eighth Season
Aug 27, 2013 | 2237 views | 0 0 comments | 21 21 recommendations | email to a friend | print


Dallas, Texas, Aug. 27, 2013– If you are wondering who the next Heisman Trophy winner will be, look no further than the Built Ford Tough Texas High School Player of the Week. Entering its eighth year, the program has recognized the last two Heisman winners, Robert Griffin III and Johnny Manziel, with Player of the Week awards during their high school careers.


Ford Motor Company is once again asking fans, coaches and media to start nominating potential honorees for the 2013 season.


Since 2006, more than 400 outstanding Texas high school athletes have been honored with a Player of the Week trophy from Ford. Many of the winners have gone on to professional and collegiate careers, including Heisman winners Griffin III of the Washington Redskins and Manziel of Texas A& M, as well as Quizz Rodgers, who came within a game of leading the Atlanta Falcons to the Super Bowl in February. This season, Ford is looking to recognize the same level of talent, scholarship and community involvement.


During each week of the 2013 regular season, Ford Motor Company seeks nominees who demonstrate built Ford tough virtues of sportsmanship, scholarship and service. These players are the embodiment of Ford’s “Go Further” commitment.


“Honoring Texas high school athletes with this program is one of Ford’s favorite endeavors,” says Chris Rushwin, Central Market Area Sales and Marketing Manager for Ford Motor Company. “What began as an effort to salute outstanding high school football players has become the premier recognition program for the best student-athletes in the state. The F-150 is the best-selling truck in Texas, and clearly, the state is tops for producing some of the best football players anywhere.”


Other recent notable Player of the Week winners:

  • Rex Burkhead of Nebraska, who is jump-starting his NFL career with the Cincinnati Bengals
  • SMU starting quarterback Garrett Gilbert
  • University of Texas at Austin running back Johnathan Gray, the only two-time Built Ford Tough Texas HS Football Player of the Year
  • Paul Millard and Ford Childress, battling it out for quarterback supremacy at West Virginia

Fans, coaches and media can nominate athletes to join this list at PlayeroftheWeek.com, as well as catch up with weekly winners, view video clips of players in action and get the latest program details.


Additionally, fans can catch all the action on Fox Sports Southwest. The network is again teaming with Ford and Texas Ford Dealers to keep up with award winners through their weekly television show. Each week, television crews will travel to communities across Texas, shining the spotlight on players who excel on the field, in the classroom and in their communities. The half-hour Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Player of the Week program airs Saturdays at 8:30 a.m. for 12 weeks beginning August 31.


How the program works


The Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Player of the Week program recognizes one high school student-athlete in six of the state’s athletic classifications every week of the regular season of the 2013 Texas high school football schedule. Players are selected based upon their individual performance on the field, their grades and community service.


Nominees must excel in three categories:

  • Individual performance on the field, including significant statistics from that week’s game
  • Contribution to the team’s success through their individual leadership abilities
  • Performance off the field of play, including academic success and good community citizenship

At the conclusion of the 10-week regular season, Ford and its advisory board will select one student-athlete from the ten weekly winners to be the Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Player of the Year in each classification. Following the championship games, honorees will once again be recognized at a statewide banquet event.


During the 2012 season, 60 outstanding student-athletes received Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Players of the Week trophies. The following players were named the Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Players of the Year:

  • Class 5-A: Kenny Hill, Sr., QB, Southlake Carroll
  • Class 4-A: Greg Ward, Sr., QB, Tyler John Tyler
  • Class 3-A: Tyler Jones, Sr., QB, Stephenville
  • Class 2-A: Damien Haskins, Sr., RB, New Boston
  • Class 1-A: Hagen Hutchinson, Sr., QB/S, Stamford
  • Private Schools: Mike Mitchell, Sr., LB, Plano Prestonwood Christian Academy

Ford F-Series: The Best-Selling Truck for 36 Years


Ford is the undisputed truck leader in Texas. The F-Series sets the standard for full-size pickups with best-in-class payload, towing, interior roominess, strength and reliability. Ford is proud to recognize the Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Players of the Week.


# # #


About Ford Motor Company


Ford Motor Company, a global automotive industry leader based in Dearborn, Mich., manufactures or distributes automobiles across six continents. With about 175,000 employees and 65 plants worldwide, the company’s automotive brands include Ford and Lincoln. The company provides financial services through Ford Motor Credit Company. For more information on the company and about Ford’s products, please visit www.corporate.ford.com.


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet